2015 British Fantasy Awards Winners

The British Fantasy Society (BFS) announced the winners for the 2015 British Fantasy Awards on October 25, 2015 during an awards ceremony at FantasyCon 2015 in Nottingham England.

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)

  • Cuckoo Song, Frances Hardinge (Macmillan Children’s)

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)

Best Novella

Best Short Story

Best Collection

Best Anthology

Best Independent Press

  • Fox Spirit Books (Adele Wearing)
  • The Alchemy Press (Peter Coleborn)
  • NewCon Press (Ian Whates)
  • Spectral Press (Simon Marshall-Jones)

Best Non-Fiction

  • Letters to Arkham: The Letters of Ramsey Campbell and August Derleth, 1961-1971, S.T. Joshi, ed. (PS)
  • Rhapsody: Notes on Strange Fictions, Hal Duncan (Lethe)
  • You Are the Hero: A History of Fighting Fantasy Gamebooks, Jonathan Green (Snowbooks)
  • Touchstones: Essays on the Fantastic, John Howard (Alchemy)
  • D.F. Lewis Dreamcatcher Real-Time Reviews, D.F. Lewis (D.F. Lewis)
  • Ginger Nuts of Horror, Jim McLeod, ed. (Jim McLeod)
  • Sibilant Fricative: Essays & Reviews, Adam Roberts (Steel Quill)

Best Magazine/Periodical

  • Holdfast Magazine, Laurel Sills & Lucy Smee, eds. (Laurel Sills & Lucy Smee)
  • Black Static, Andy Cox, ed. (TTA)
  • Interzone, Andy Cox, ed. (TTA)
  • Lightspeed, John Joseph Adams, ed. (Lightspeed)
  • Sein und Werden, Rachel Kendall, ed. (ISMs)

Best Artist

  • Karla Ortiz
  • Ben Baldwin
  • Vincent Chong
  • Les Edwards
  • Sarah Anne Langton
  • Daniele Serra

Best Comic/Graphic Novel

  • Through the Woods, Emily Carroll (Margaret K. McElderry)
  • The Wicked + The Divine, Kieron Gillen & Jamie McKelvie (Image)
  • Cemetery Girl, Charlaine Harris, Christopher Golden & Don Kramer (Jo Fletcher)
  • Seconds, Bryan Lee O’Malley (SelfMadeHero)
  • Grandville Noël, Bryan Talbot (Jonathan Cape)
  • Saga, Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples (Image)

Best Film/Television Episode

  • Guardians of the Galaxy
  • Birdman: Or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
  • Black Mirror: “White Christmas”
  • Interstellar
  • Under the Skin

Best Newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award)

  • Sarah Lotz, for The Three (Hodder & Stoughton)


Juliet E. McKenna received the special award (the Karl Edward Wagner Award), chosen by the BFS committee.