Lafferty Wins Wellman

The North Carolina Speculative Fiction Foundation has announced the winner of the 2015 Manly Wade Wellman Award. The award recognizes “outstanding achievement in science fiction and fantasy novels written by North Carolina authors.”

  • Ghost Train to New Orleans, Mur Lafferty (Orbit)
  • The Sea Without a Shore, David Drake (Baen)
  • Hamlet, Prince of Denmark, A.J. Hartley & David Hewson (Audible)
  • Reign of Ash, Gail Z. Martin (Orbit)
  • Bad Wizard, James Maxey (Antimatter Press)

The award was presented July 11, 2015 at ConGregate in High Point NC. Lafferty won last year’s inaugural prize for The Shambling Guide to New York City, and has removed herself from consideration for next year’s award.