2015 British Fantasy Awards Nominees

The British Fantasy Society (BFS) has announced the finalists for the 2015 British Fantasy Awards. The nominees are:

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)

  • City of Stairs, Robert Jackson Bennett (Jo Fletcher)
  • The Relic Guild, Edward Cox (Gollancz)
  • Breed, K.T. Davies (Fox Spirit)
  • Cuckoo Song, Frances Hardinge (Macmillan Children’s)
  • A Man Lies Dreaming, Lavie Tidhar (Hodder & Stoughton)
  • The Moon King, Neil Williamson (NewCon)

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)

  • The Last Plague, Rich Hawkins (Crowded Quarantine)
  • The Unquiet House, Alison Littlewood (Jo Fletcher)
  • Station Eleven, Emily St. John Mandel (Knopf)
  • The End, Gary McMahon (NewCon)
  • The Girl With All the Gifts, M.R. Carey (Orbit)
  • No One Gets Out Alive, Adam Nevill (Macmillan)

Best Novella

  • “Water For Drowning”, Ray Cluley (This Is Horror)
  • Cold Turkey, Carole Johnstone (TTA)
  • “Newspaper Heart”, Stephen Volk (The Spectral Book of Horror Stories)
  • Drive, Mark West (Pendragon)

Best Short Story

  • “The Girl on the Suicide Bridge”, J.A. Mains (Beside the Seaside)
  • “Ptichka”, Laura Mauro (Horror Uncut: Tales of Social Insecurity and Economic Unease)
  • “A Woman’s Place”, Emma Newman (Two Hundred and Twenty-One Baker Streets)
  • “A Change of Heart”, Gaie Sebold (Wicked Women)

Best Collection

  • Nick Nightmare Investigates, Adrian Cole (Alchemy & Airgedlámh)
  • Scruffians! Stories of Better Sodomites, Hal Duncan (Lethe)
  • The Bright Day Is Done, Carole Johnstone (Gray Friar)
  • Gifts for the One Who Comes After, Helen Marshall (ChiZine)
  • Black Gods Kiss, Lavie Tidhar (PS)

Best Anthology

  • The Alchemy Press Book of Urban Mythic 2, Jan Edwards & Jenny Barber, eds. (Alchemy)
  • Terror Tales of Wales, Paul Finch, ed. (Gray Friar)
  • Horror Uncut: Tales of Social Insecurity and Economic Unease, Joel Lane & Tom Johnstone, eds. (Gray Friar)
  • The Spectral Book of Horror Stories, Mark Morris, ed. (Spectral)
  • Lightspeed: Women Destroy Science Fiction Special Issue, Christie Yant, ed. (Lightspeed)

Best Independent Press

  • The Alchemy Press (Peter Coleborn)
  • Fox Spirit Books (Adele Wearing)
  • NewCon Press (Ian Whates)
  • Spectral Press (Simon Marshall-Jones)

Best Non-Fiction

  • Rhapsody: Notes on Strange Fictions, Hal Duncan (Lethe)
  • You Are the Hero: A History of Fighting Fantasy Gamebooks, Jonathan Green (Snowbooks)
  • Touchstones: Essays on the Fantastic, John Howard (Alchemy)
  • Letters to Arkham: The Letters of Ramsey Campbell and August Derleth, 1961-1971, S.T. Joshi, ed. (PS)
  • D.F. Lewis Dreamcatcher Real-Time Reviews, D.F. Lewis (D.F. Lewis)
  • Ginger Nuts of Horror, Jim McLeod, ed. (Jim McLeod)
  • Sibilant Fricative: Essays & Reviews, Adam Roberts (Steel Quill)

Best Magazine/Periodical

  • Black Static, Andy Cox, ed. (TTA)
  • Holdfast Magazine, Laurel Sills & Lucy Smee, eds. (Laurel Sills & Lucy Smee)
  • Interzone, Andy Cox, ed. (TTA)
  • Lightspeed, John Joseph Adams, ed. (Lightspeed)
  • Sein und Werden, Rachel Kendall, ed. (ISMs)

Best Artist

  • Ben Baldwin
  • Vincent Chong
  • Les Edwards
  • Sarah Anne Langton
  • Karla Ortiz
  • Daniele Serra

Best Comic/Graphic Novel

  • Through the Woods, Emily Carroll (Margaret K. McElderry)
  • The Wicked + The Divine, Kieron Gillen & Jamie McKelvie (Image)
  • Cemetery Girl, Charlaine Harris, Christopher Golden & Don Kramer (Jo Fletcher)
  • Seconds, Bryan Lee O’Malley (SelfMadeHero)
  • Grandville Noël, Bryan Talbot (Jonathan Cape)
  • Saga, Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples (Image)

Best Film/Television Episode

  • Birdman: Or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
  • Black Mirror: “White Christmas”
  • Guardians of the Galaxy
  • Interstellar
  • Under the Skin

Best Newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award)

  • Edward Cox, for The Relic Guild (Gollancz)
  • Sarah Lotz, for The Three (Hodder & Stoughton)
  • Laura Mauro, for “Ptichka” (Horror Uncut: Tales of Social Insecurity and Economic Unease)
  • Den Patrick, for The Boy with the Porcelain Blade (Gollancz)
  • Jen Williams, for The Copper Promise (Headline)

Winners will be chosen by jury, except for the special award (the Karl Edward Wagner Award) which is chosen by the BFS committee. Winners will be announced October 25, 2015 during an awards ceremony at FantasyCon 2015 in Nottingham England.