2015 Sunburst Award Longlist

The jury’s selections for the 2015 Sunburst Awards for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic have been announced:


  • Pastoral, Andre Alexis (Coach House)
  • The Broken Hours, Jaqueline Baker (Harper Canada)
  • The Troop, Nick Cutter (Pocket)
  • Consumed, David Cronenberg (Scribner)
  • Suffer the Children, Craig DiLouie (Simon & Schuster)
  • The First Principles of Dreaming, Beth Goobie (Second Story)
  • Head Full of Mountains, Brent Hayward (ChiZine)
  • Irregular Verbs, Matthew Johnson (ChiZine)
  • The Back of the Turtle, Thomas King (HarperCollins)
  • Gifts For the One Who Comes After, Helen Marshall (ChiZine)
  • Cloud, Eric McCormack (Penguin Canada)
  • Knife Fight and Other Struggles, David Nickle (ChiZine)
  • Emberton, Peter Norman (Douglas & McIntyre)
  • Lockstep, Karl Schroeder (Tor)
  • Cycling to Asylum, Su J. Sokol (Deux Volliers)
  • Silence For the Dead, Simone St. James (NAL)
  • Station Eleven, Emily St. John Mandel (Picador)
  • My Real Children, Jo Walton (Tor; Corsair)
  • Echopraxia, Peter Watts (Tor; Head of Zeus)
  • Will Starling, Ian Weir (Goose Lane)

Young Adult:

  • Sea of Shadows, Kelley Armstrong (Harper)
  • The Night Gardener, Jonathan Auxier (Abrams)
  • Gottika, Helaine Becker (Dancing Cat)
  • Tin Star, Cecil Castellucci (Roaring Brook)
  • The Voices in Between, Charlene Challenger (Tightrope)
  • Guardian, Natasha Deen (Great Plains)
  • Child of a Hidden Sea, A.M. Dellamonica (Tor)
  • A Breath of Frost, Alyxandra Harvey (Bloomsbury)
  • Sophie, In Shadow, Eileen Kernaghan (Thistledown)
  • Seven Wild Sisters, Charles de Lint (Little, Brown)
  • The Boundless, Kenneth Oppel (Simon & Schuster)
  • The Paper Sword, Robert Priest (Dundum)
  • Zomboy, Richard Scrimger (HarperCollins)
  • Radiant, Karina Sumner-Smith (Talos)
  • The Door in the Mountain, Caitlin Sweet (ChiTeen)
  • Song of the Sword, Ed Willett (Cocteau)

Finalists will be announced in mid-June, and winners in the fall.  Each winner will receive a cash prize of $1,000 and a hand-crafted sunburst medallion. The jurors for the 2015 award are S.M. Beiko, Gerard Collins, Paula Johanson, Corey Redekop and Sherryl Vint.

For more information, see the Sunburst Award Society.