Australian Awards News

Judges for the 2015 Aurealis Awards, honoring excellence in Australian SF, fantasy, and horror work, have been empaneled.

Winners of the 2014 Australian Shadows Awards, presented by the Australian Horror Writers Association and honoring work by Australians and New Zealanders, have been announced.


Wolf Creek: Origin, Aaron Sterns & Greg McLean (Penguin Australia)

Short Fiction

‘‘Shadows of the Lonely Dead’’, Alan Baxter (Suspended in Dusk)

Edited Work

SQ Issue 14, Sophie Yorkston, ed.

Collected Work

Last Year When We Were Young, Andrew McKiernan (Satalyte Pty)

Paul Haines Award for Long Fiction

Dreams of Destruction, Shane Jiraiya Cummings (self-published).

Judges were Jay Caselberg, Bianca de Loryn, Christine Ferdinands, Lee Pletzers, Natalie Satakovski, and Kathy Williams-DeVries. For more: