2014 Bram Stoker Awards Winners

The 2014 Bram Stoker Awards winners have been announced by the Horror Writers Association.

Superior Achievement in a Novel

Superior Achievement in a First Novel

Superior Achievement in a YA Novel

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction

  • Fishing for Dinosaurs“, Joe R. Lansdale (Limbus, Inc., Book II)
  • The Infected, Taylor Grant (Cemetery Dance #71)
  • Dreams of a Little Suicide”, Eric J. Guignard (Hell Comes to Hollywood II)
  • Three Guys Walk Into a Bar“, Jonathan Maberry (Limbus, Inc., Book II)
  • Lost and Found“, Joe McKinney (Limbus, Inc., Book II)

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction (tie)

  • The Vaporization Enthalpy of a Peculiar Pakistani Family, Usman T. Malik (Qualia Nous)
  • Ruminations“, Rena Mason (Qualia Nous)

Superior Achievement in an Anthology

Superior Achievement in a Collection

Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

  • Fearworms: Selected Poems, Robert Payne Cabeen (Fanboy Comics)
  • Venus Intervention, Corrinne De Winter & Alessandro Manzetti (Kipple Officina Libraria)
  • Sweet Poison, Marge Simon & Mary Turzillo (Dark Renaissance)
  • Mourning Jewelry, Stephanie Wytovich (Raw Dog Screaming)

Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel

  • Bad Blood, Jonathan Maberry & Tyler Crook (Dark Horse)

Superior Achievement in a Screenplay

  • The Babadook
  • American Horror Story: Coven: “The Magical Delights of Stevie Nicks”
  • Doctor Who: “Listen”
  • Penny Dreadful: “Séance”
  • The Walking Dead: “The Grove”

Jack Ketchum and Tanith Lee were the recipients of the Horror Writer’s Association Life Achievement Awards. ChiZine Publications won the Specialty Press Award, and the Silver Hammer Award, presented for outstanding service to HWA, went to Rena Mason. The President’s Richard Laymon Service Award was given to Tom Calen, Brock Cooper, and Doug Murano.

HWA introduced the Mentor Award “honoring writers who, thru the Mentoring Program, provide excellent support to their mentees.” Mentor of the Year went to Kathy Ptacek.

The Bram Stoker Awards were presented during a banquet ceremony at the 25th annual World Horror Convention in Atlanta, GA on Saturday, May 9 2015.