2014 RT Awards Winners

Several titles and authors of genre interest are among the 2014 Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice and Career Achievement Awards winners.

For Career Achievement, Cecilia Tan won in the Erotic Romance sub-category, Kathy Reichs won for Mystery, Walter Dean Myers won for Young Adult, Amanda Ashley won for Paranormal Romance, Sharon Sala won for Romantic Suspense, C.J. Cherryh won for Science Fiction & Fantasy, and Urban Fantasy went to Patricia Briggs.

In Historical Romance, Diana Gabaldon’s Written in My Own Heart’s Blood (Random House) won the Historical Fiction sub-category.

The Paranormal/Urban Fantasy sub-categories and winners are:

Steampunk: Dawn’s Early Light, Pip Ballantine & Tee Morris (Ace)

Paranormal Romance: Bitter Spirits, Jenn Bennett (Berkley)

Paranormal Worldbuilding: The Descent, Alma Katsu (Gallery)

Fantasy Romance: Entreat Me, Grace Draven (Self-published)

Futuristic Romance: Born of Fury, Sherrilyn Kenyon (St. Martin’s)

Urban Fantasy Novel: Magic Breaks, Ilona Andrews (Ace)

Urban Fantasy Worldbuilding: Up From the Grave, Jeaniene Frost (Avon)

Self-Pub Urban Fantasy: Broken Blade, J.C. Daniels (Shiloh Walker)

In the Romantic Suspense category, Christina Dodd’s Virtue Falls (St. Martin’s) won for Paranormal Romantic Suspense.

In the Mystery/ Suspense/ Thriller category, One Potion in the Grave (NAL) by Heather Blake won for Amateur Sleuth.

In Young Adult/New Adult, Dreams of Gods & Monsters (Little, Brown) by Laini Taylor won for YA Fantasy, and The Iron Trial (Scholastic) by Holly Black & Cassandra Clare won for Middle Grade Protagonist.

Winners in sub-categories of Science Fiction/Fantasy are:

Science Fiction: Valley of Fires, J. Barton Mitchell (Thomas Dunne)

Fantasy: My Real Children, Jo Walton (Tor)

Epic Fantasy: The Widow’s House, Daniel Abraham (Orbit)

Fantasy Adventure: Daring, Elliott James (Orbit)

The awards ceremony will take place at the RT Booklovers Convention at the Hyatt Regency Dallas in Dallas, TX May 12-17, 2015. For the complete list of categories, sub-categories, and winners, see the announcement on the RT Book Reviews website.