2014 BSFA Awards Winners

The 2014 BSFA Awards winners were announced at the 66th Eastercon, Dysprosium, on April 5, 2015 in Heathrow.

Best Novel

  • Ancillary Sword, Anne Leckie (Orbit)
  • The Race, Nina Allan (Newcon)
  • Cuckoo Song, Frances Hardinge (Macmillan)
  • Europe in Autumn, Dave Hutchinson (Solaris)
  • Wolves, Simon Ings (Gollancz)
  • The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August, Claire North (Orbit)
  • Lagoon, Nnedi Okorafor (Hodder)
  • The Moon King, Neil Williamson (Newcon)

Best Short Fiction

  • “The Honey Trap”, Ruth E J Booth (La Femme)
  • “The Mussel Eater”,  Octavia Cade (The Book Smugglers)
  • Scale Bright, Benjanun Sriduangkaew (Immersion)

Best Artwork

  • “The Wasp Factory” (sculpture), Tessa Farmer (after Iain Banks)
  • Cover for Kameron Hurley’s Mirror Empire, Richard Anderson (Angry Robot)
  • Cover for Adam Roberts’s Bête, Blacksheep (Gollancz)
  • Cover for Simon Ings’s Wolves, Jeffery Alan Love (Gollancz)
  • Cover for Sophia McDougall’s Mars Evacuees, Andy Potts (Egmont)

Best Non-Fiction

  • “Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers in the Great War”, Edward James (fantastic-writers-and-the-great-war.com)
  • Greg Egan, Karen Burnham (University of Illinois Press)
  • Call and Response, Paul Kincaid (Beccon Books)
  • “Deep Forests and Manicured Gardens: A Look at Two New Short Fiction Magazines”, Jonathan McCalmont (Ruthless Culture)
  • “The State of British SF and Fantasy: A Symposium”, Niall Harrison, ed. (Strange Horizons)

More details may be found at the BSFA website.