2014 Kitschies Winners

Winners for the 2014 Kitschies have been announced.

The Red Tentacle (Novel)

  • Grasshopper Jungle, Andrew Smith (Egmont)
  • The Race, Nina Allen (NewCon)
  • The Peripheral, William Gibson (Viking)
  • Lagoon, Nnedi Okorafor (Hodder & Stoughton)
  • The Way Inn, Will Wiles (4th Estate)


The Golden Tentacle (Debut)

  • Viper Wine, Hermione Eyre (Jonathan Cape)
  • The Girl in the Road, Monica Byrne (Blackfriars)
  • The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet, Becky Chambers (self-published)
  • Memory of Water, Emmi Itäranta (HarperCollins)
  • The People in the Trees, Hanya Yanagihara (Atlantic)


The Inky Tentacle (Cover Art)

  • Nick Harkaway’s Tigerman, Glenn O’Neill (William Heinamann)
  • Emily Carroll’s Through the Woods, Emily Carroll & Sonja Chaghatzbanian (Faber and Faber)
  • Valerie Martin’s The Ghost of the Mary Celeste, design by Steve Marking, lettering by Kimberly Glyder (Weidenfeld and Nicolson)
  • Michel Faber’s The Book of Strange New Things, Rafaela Romaya & Yehring Tong (Canongate)
  • Lavie Tidhar’s A Man Lies Dreaming, Ben Summers (Hodder and Stoughton)


The Invisible Tentacle (Natively Digital Fiction)

  • 80 Days, Meg Jayanth (Inkle Studios)
  • echovirus12, Jeff Noon, Ed, James Knight, violet sprite, Richard Biddle, Mina Polen, Uel Aramchek, Graham Walsh, Vapour Vox
  • The Sailor’s Dream, Simogo


The Kitschies are awarded to “the year’s most progressive, intelligent, and entertaining works that contain elements of the speculative or fantastic.” Winners receive trophies and cash prizes. Novel and debut winners were selected by judges Kate Griffin, Adam Roberts, Frances Hardinge, Kim Curran, and Glen Mehn. Judges for art were Jim Kay, Siân Prime, Dapo Adeoloa, and Ed Warren.

Awards were presented in a ceremony on March 4, 2015. For more, see the Kitschies website.