2014 Sunburst Winners

Winners for the 14th annual Sunburst Awards for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic have been announced:


  • A Tale for the Time Being, Ruth Ozeki (Penguin Canada)
  • Sister Mine, Nalo Hopkinson (Grand Central)
  • River of Stars, Guy Gavriel Kay (Penguin Canada)
  • This Strange Way of Dying, Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Exile Editions)
  • The Demonologist, Andrew Pyper (Simon & Schuster)

Young Adult

  • The Cats of Tanglewood Forest, Charles de Lint (Little, Brown)
  • Sorrow’s Knot, Erin Bow (Scholastic)
  • Homeland, Cory Doctorow (Tor)
  • The Path of Names, Ari Goelman (Scholastic)
  • Urgle, Meaghan McIsaac (Cormorant)

Honorable Mentions

  • The n-Body Problem, Tony Burgess (Chizine)
  • The Luminaries, Eleanor Catton (McClelland & Stewart)
  • The Oathbreaker’s Shadow, Amy McCulloch (Doubleday Canada)
  • Wild Fell, Michael Rowe (ChiZine)
  • Beyond the Rift, Peter Watts (Tachyon)

Winners will receive a cash prize of $1,000 and a hand-crafted medallion featuring a sunburst logo. Jurors for 2014 were Camille Alexa, Paul Glennon, Bob Knowlton, Nicole Luiken, and Derek Newman-Stille.

For more information, see The Sunburst Award Society.