2014 Hugo and Campbell Awards Winners

Winners for the Hugo Awards and for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer were announced at Loncon 3, the 72nd World Science Fiction Convention, held in London, England, August 17, 2014.

Best Novel (1,595 nominating ballots)

  • Ancillary Justice, Ann Leckie (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
  • Warbound, Larry Correia (Baen)
  • Parasite, Mira Grant (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
  • The Wheel of Time (complete series), Robert Jordan & Brandon Sanderson (Tor)
  • Neptune’s Brood, Charles Stross (Ace; Orbit UK)

Best Novella (847)

  • ‘‘Equoid’’, Charles Stross (Tor.com 9/24/13)
  • ‘‘Wakulla Springs’’, Andy Duncan & Ellen Klages (Tor.com 10/2/13)
  • ‘‘The Chaplain’s Legacy’’, Brad Torgersen (Analog 7-8/13)
  • Six-Gun Snow White, Catherynne M. Valente (Subterranean)
  • The Butcher of Khardov, Dan Wells (Privateer Press)

Best Novelette (728)

  • ‘‘The Lady Astronaut of Mars’’, Mary Robinette Kowal (Rip-Off! 2012; maryrobinettekowal.com 2/13)
  • ‘‘The Truth of Fact, the Truth of Feeling’’, Ted Chiang (Subterranean Fall ‘13)
  • ‘‘Opera Vita Aeterna’’, Vox Day (The Last Witchking)
  • ‘‘The Waiting Stars’’, Aliette de Bodard (The Other Half of the Sky)
  • ‘‘The Exchange Officers’’, Brad Torgersen (Analog 1-2/13)

Best Short Story (865)

  • ‘‘The Water That Falls on You from Nowhere’’, John Chu (Tor.com 2/20/13)
  • ‘‘The Ink Readers of Doi Saket’’, Thomas Olde Heuvelt (Tor.com 4/24/13)
  • ‘‘Selkie Stories Are for Losers’’, Sofia Samatar (Strange Horizons 1/7/13)
  • ‘‘If You Were a Dinosaur, My Love’’, Rachel Swirsky (Apex Magazine 3/13)

Best Dramatic Presentation – Long (995)

  • Gravity
  • Frozen
  • The Hunger Games: Catching Fire
  • Iron Man 3
  • Pacific Rim

Best Dramatic Presentation – Short (760)

  • Game of Thrones: ‘‘The Rains of Castamere’’
  • An Adventure in Space and Time
  • Doctor Who: ‘‘The Day of the Doctor’’
  • Doctor Who: ‘‘The Name of the Doctor’’
  • The Five(ish) Doctors Reboot
  • Orphan Black: ‘‘Variations under Domestication’’

Best Related Work (752)

  • ‘‘We Have Always Fought: Challenging the Women, Cattle and Slaves Narrative’’, Kameron Hurley (A Dribble of Ink 5/20/13)
  • Queers Dig Time Lords: A Celebration of Doctor Who by the LGBTQ Fans Who Love It, Sigrid Ellis & Michael Damian Thomas, eds. (Mad Norwegian Press)
  • Speculative Fiction 2012: The Best Online Reviews, Essays and Commentary, Justin Landon & Jared Shurin, eds. (Jurassic London)
  • Writing Excuses, Season 8, Brandon Sanderson, Dan Wells, Mary Robinette Kowal, Howard Tayler & Jordan Sanderson
  • Wonderbook: The Illustrated Guide to Creating Imaginative Fiction, Jeff VanderMeer with Jeremy Zerfoss (Abrams Image)

Best Graphic Story (552)

  • ‘‘Time’’, Randall Munroe (XKCD)
  • ‘‘The Girl Who Loved Doctor Who’’, Paul Cornell; art by Jimmy Broxton (Doctor Who Special 2013)
  • Girl Genius, Volume 13: Agatha Heterodyne & The Sleeping City, Phil & Kaja Foglio; art by Phil Foglio; colors by Cheyenne Wright (Airship Entertainment)
  • The Meathouse Man, adapted and illustrated by Raya Golden from the story by George R.R. Martin (Jet City Comics)
  • Saga, Volume 2, Brian K. Vaughn; art by Fiona Staples (Image Comics)

Best Professional Editor Long Form (632)

  • Ginjer Buchanan
  • Sheila Gilbert
  • Liz Gorinsky
  • Lee Harris
  • Toni Weisskopf

Best Professional Editor Short Form (656)

  • Ellen Datlow
  • John Joseph Adams
  • Neil Clarke
  • Jonathan Strahan
  • Sheila Williams

Best Professional Artist (624)

  • Julie Dillon
  • Galen Dara
  • Daniel Dos Santos
  • John Harris
  • John Picacio
  • Fiona Staples

Best Semiprozine (411)

  • Lightspeed
  • Apex Magazine
  • Beneath Ceaseless Skies
  • Interzone
  • Strange Horizons

Best Fanzine (478)

  • A Dribble of Ink
  • The Book Smugglers
  • Elitist Book Reviews
  • Journey Planet
  • Pornokitsch

Best Fancast (396)

  • SF Signal Podcast
  • The Coode Street Podcast
  • Doctor Who: Verity!
  • Galactic Suburbia Podcast
  • The Skiffy and Fanty Show
  • Tea and Jeopardy
  • The Writer and the Critic

Best Fan Writer (521)

  • Kameron Hurley
  • Liz Bourke
  • Foz Meadows
  • Abigail Nussbaum
  • Mark Oshiro

Best Fan Artist (316)

  • Sarah Webb
  • Brad W. Foster
  • Mandie Manzano
  • Spring Schoenhuth
  • Steve Stiles

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer [Not a Hugo Award] (767)

  • *Sofia Samatar
  • Wesley Chu
  • *Max Gladstone
  • *Ramez Naam
  • Benjanun Sriduangkaew

*Finalists in their 2nd year of eligibility.

There were 1,923 nominating ballots received from members of LoneStarCon 3, Loncon 3, and Sasquan.