2014 Chesley Awards Winners

Winners for the Chesley Awards were announced at Loncon 3, the 72nd World Science Fiction Convention, held in London, England, August 15, 2014. The Chesley Awards are presented by the Association of Science Fiction & Fantasy Artists (ASFA).

Best Cover Illustration – Hardback Book

  • Todd Lockwood, for A Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan (Tor)
  • Jason Chan, for Lost Covenant: A Widdershins Adventure by Ari Marmell (Pyr)
  • Kekai Kotaki, for Quintessence by David Walton (Tor)
  • Maurizio Manzieri, for Book of Iron by Elizabeth Bear (Subterranean)
  • Michael Whelan, for A Memory of Light by Robert Jordan & Brandon Sanderson (Tor)
  • Allen Williams, for “Light Reading”, Queen Victoria’s Book of Spells, Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling, eds. (Tor)

Best Cover Illustration – Paperback Book

  • Kerem Beyit, for The Scroll of Years by Chris Willrich (Pyr)
  • Jason Chan, for Harbinger by Phillippa Ballantine (Ace)
  • Julie Dillon, for Ancient Discovery: Crossed Genres Magazine 2.0 Book One (Crossed Genres)
  • Justin Gerard, for Power Under Pressure by Andrew P. Mayer (Pyr)
  • Dehong He, for Shield of Sea and Space by Erin Hoffman (Pyr)

Best Cover Illustration – Magazine

  • Dan Dos Santos, for Fables #136 (12/13)
  • Julie Dillon, for Clarkesworld #87 (12/13)
  • Maurizio Manzieri, for F&SF (3-4/13)
  • Cynthia Sheppard, for Bull Spec #8 & 9 (Spring 2013)

Best Interior Illustration

  • Brian Kesinger, for Walking Your Octopus (Baby Tattoo)
  • Robert Hunt, for “Fire Above, Fire Below” by Garth Nix (Tor.com 5/13)
  • John Jude Palencar, for “A Terror” by Jeffrey Ford (Tor.com 7/13)
  • John Picacio, for “The Button Man and the Murder Tree” by Cherie Priest (Tor.com 5/13)
  • John Picacio, for “The Good Life” (Popular Science 6/13)
  • Greg Ruth, for “Dragonkin” by Lavie Tidhar (Tor.com 7/13)
  • Greg Ruth, for “The Running of the Bulls” by Harry Turtledove (Tor.com 3/13)

Best Three-Dimensional Art

  • Devon Dorrity, for “Cecaelia, Queen of the Ocean” (clay)
  • Thomas Kuebler, for “Krampus the Yule Lord” (mixed)
  • David Meng, for “Leatherback” (resin)
  • Michael Parkes, for “Goddess of the Hunt” (bronze)
  • Forest Rogers, for “Goblin Spider” (Kato polyclay)
  • Vincent Villafranca, for “Star Smith” (bronze)

Best Color Work—Unpublished

  • Donato Giancola, for “Huor and Hurin Approaching Gondolin” (oil on linen)
  • Rhea Ewing, for “Ancestor Series – Neanderthal”
  • Stephanie Pui-Mun Law, for “Ships Passing in the Night” (watercolor)
  • Dave Leri, for “Death Squealer” (oil on masonite)
  • Annie Stegg, for “Lilaia the Naiad” (oil on paper)

Best Monochrome Work – Unpublished

  • Ruth Sanderson, for “The Descent of Persephone” (scratchboard)
  • Justin Gerard, for “The Fox Princess” (pencil)
  • Rebecca Guay, for “Tender Morsels” (graphite)
  • Travis Lewis, for “Bone Collector” (graphite)
  • John Picacio, for “La Luna”

Best Product Illustration

  • Julie Bell & Boris Vallejo, for “Jeannie’s Kitten” (IlluXCon 6 promo art)
  • Mitchell Bentley, for 2014 Space Art Calendar (Atomic Fly Studios and Alban Lake)
  • Julie Dillon, for 2014 Llewellyn’s Astrology Calendar (Llewellyn)
  • Justin Gerard, for “Morzag! Lord of Destruction” poster
  • Iain McCaig, for “Call of the Muse” (Spectrum 20 Call for Entries poster)
  • John Picacio, for “El Arpa” (Loteria Card Illustration from Lone Boy)

Best Gaming-Related Illustration

  • Lucas Graciano, for “The Last Stand of Thorin Oakenshield” (The Battle of Five Armies Board Game)
  • Tyler Jacobson, for “Ruric: Thar the Unbowed” (Magic: The Gathering)
  • Todd Lockwood, for “Observant Alseid” (Magic: The Gathering)
  • David Palumbo, for “Serene Remembrance” (Magic: The Gathering)
  • Steve Prescott, for “Prognostic Sphinx” (Magic: The Gathering)
  • Chris Rahn, for “Ashen Rider” (Magic: The Gathering)

Best Art Director

  • Irene Gallo, for Tor and Tor.com
  • Lou Anders, for Pyr
  • Lauren Panepinto, for Orbit
  • William Schafer, for Subterranean Press
  • Jon Schindehette, for Wizards of the Coast

Award for Lifetime Artistic Achievement

  • Jim Burns
  • Kinuko Y. Craft
  • Diane Dillon
  • Drew Struzan

For more, see the ASFA website.