2013 Shirley Jackson Awards Winners

The 2013 Shirley Jackson Awards were presented on July 13, 2014 at Readercon 25, Conference on Imaginative Literature, in Burlington, Massachusetts. Readercon guests of honor Andrea Hairston and Kit Reed hosted the ceremony.


  • American Elsewhere, Robert Jackson Bennett (Orbit)
  • The Accursed, Joyce Carol Oates (Ecco)
  • The Demonologist, Andrew Pyper (Orion; Simon & Schuster)
  • The Ghost Bride, Yangsze Choo (William Morrow)
  • Night Film, Marisha Pessl (Random House)
  • Wild Fell, Michael Rowe (ChiZine Publications)


  • Burning Girls, Veronica Schanoes (Tor.com)
  • Children of No One, Nicole Cushing (DarkFuse)
  • Helen’s Story, Rosanne Rabinowitz (PS Publishing)
  • It Sustains, Mark Morris (Earthling Publications)
  • “The Gateway”, Nina Allan (Stardust)
  • The Last Revelation of Gla’aki, Ramsey Campbell (PS Publishing)
  • Whom the Gods Would Destroy, Brian Hodge (DarkFuse)


  • Cry Murder! In a Small Voice, Greer Gilman (Small Beer Press)
  • “A Little of the Night”, Tanith Lee (Clockwork Phoenix 4)
  • “My Heart is Either Broken”, Megan Abbott (Dangerous Women)
  • “Phosphorus”, Veronica Schanoes (Queen Victoria’s Book of Spells: An Anthology of Gaslamp Fantasy)
  • “Raptors”, Conrad Williams (Subterranean Winter 2013)


  • “57 Reasons for the Slate Quarry Suicides”, Sam J. Miller (Nightmare December 2013)
  • “Furnace”, Livia Llewellyn (Grimscribe’s Puppets)
  • “The Memory Book”, Maureen McHugh (Queen Victoria’s Book of Spells: An Anthology of Gaslamp Fantasy)
  • “The Statue in the Garden”, Paul Park (Exotic Gothic 5)
  • “That Tiny Flutter of the Heart”, Robert Shearman (Psycho-Mania!)
  • “The Traditional”, Maria Dahvana Headley (Lightspeed May 2013)


  • Tie: Before and Afterlives, Christopher Barzak (Lethe Press) & North American Lake Monsters, Nathan Ballingrud (Small Beer)
  • Everything You Need, Michael Marshall Smith (Earthling Publications)
  • In Search of and Others, Will Ludwigsen (Lethe Press)
  • The Story Until Now, Kit Reed (Wesleyan)


  • Grimscribe’s Puppets, Joseph S. Pulver, Sr., ed. (Miskatonic River Press)
  • The Book of the Dead, Jared Shurin, ed. (Jurassic London)
  • End of the Road, Jonathan Oliver (Solaris)
  • Queen Victoria’s Book of Spells: An Anthology of Gaslamp Fantasy, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Tor)
  • Where thy Dark Eye Glances: Queering Edgar Allan Poe, Steve Berman, ed. (Lethe Press)
In recognition of the legacy of Shirley Jackson’s writing, and with permission of the author’s estate, The Shirley Jackson Awards, Inc. has been established for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic. The Shirley Jackson Awards are voted upon by a jury of professional writers, editors, critics, and academics, with input from a board of advisors. The awards are given for the best works published in the preceding calendar year.