2014 Campbell and Sturgeon Award Winners

Strange Bodies by Marcel Theroux (Faber & Faber/Farrar, Straus, and Giroux) won this year’s John W. Campbell Memorial Award for best science fiction novel published in 2013, and Sarah Pinsker’s “In Joy, Knowing the Abyss” (Strange Horizons 7/1/13 and 7/8/13 ) is the winner of the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for best short fiction of 2013.

The awards will be presented during the Campbell Conference Awards Banquet, held June 13-15, 2014 at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas.

Other finalists were as follows:

John W. Campbell Memorial Award

  • Lexicon, Max Barry (Penguin)
  • Proxima, Stephen Baxter (Gollancz)
  • The Circle, Dave Eggers (Knopf)
  • We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves, Karen Joy Fowler (Marian Wood / Putnam)
  • Hild, Nicola Griffith (Farrar, Straus, and Giroux)
  • The Cusanus Game, Wolfgang Jeschke (Tor)
  • Ancillary Justice, Ann Leckie (Orbit)
  • The Disestablishment of Paradise, Phillip Mann (Gollancz)
  • Evening’s Empires, Paul McAuley (Gollancz)
  • The Red: First Light, Linda Nagata (Mythic Island Press)
  • The Adjacent, Christopher Priest (Gollancz)
  • On the Steel Breeze, Alastair Reynolds (Gollancz)
  • Shaman, Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit)
  • Neptune’s Brood, Charles Stross (Ace)

Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award

  • “Bloom”, Gregory Norman Bossert (Asimov’s 12/13)
  • “The Weight of the Sunrise”, Vylar Kaftan (Asimov’s 02/13)
  • “They Shall Salt the Earth with Seeds of Glass”, Alaya Dawn Johnson (Asimov’s 01/13)
  • “Over There”, Will McIntosh (Asimov’s 01/13)
  • “The Wildfires of Antarctica”, Alan DeNiro (Asimov’s 10 & 11/13)
  • “The Irish Astronaut”, Val Nolan (Electric Velocipede 05/13)
  • “Mystic Falls”, Robert Reed (Clarkesworld 11/13)
  • “Selected Program Notes from the Retrospective Exhibition of Theresa Rosenberg Latimer”, Kenneth Schneyer (Clockwork Phoenix 4)
  • “The Urashima Effect”, E. Lily Yu (Clarkesworld 06/13)