2014 British Fantasy Award Nominees

The British Fantasy Society has announced the finalists for the 2014 British Fantasy Awards. The nominees are:

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)

  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane, Neil Gaiman (Headline)
  • Blood and Feathers: Rebellion, Lou Morgan (Solaris)
  • Between Two Thorns, Emma Newman (Angry Robot)
  • The Glass Republic, Tom Pollock (Jo Fletcher)
  • A Stranger in Olondria, Sofia Samatar (Small Beer)

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)

  • The Shining Girls, Lauren Beukes (HarperCollins)
  • NOS4R2, Joe Hill (Gollancz)
  • The Year of the Ladybird, Graham Joyce (Gollancz)
  • Path of Needles, Alison Littlewood (Jo Fletcher)
  • House of Small Shadows, Adam Nevill (Pan)
  • Mayhem, Sarah Pinborough (Jo Fletcher)

Best Novella

  • Spin, Nina Allan (TTA Press)
  • “Vivian Guppy and the Brighton Belle”, Nina Allan (Rustblind and Silverbright)
  • Dogs With Their Eyes Shut, Paul Meloy (PS Publishing)
  • Beauty, Sarah Pinborough (Gollancz)
  • Whitstable, Stephen Volk (Spectral)

Best Short Story

  • “Chalk”, Pat Cadigan (This Is Horror)
  • “Signs of the Times”, Carole Johnstone (Black Static #33)
  • “Golden Apple”, Sophia McDougall (The Lowest Heaven)
  • “Death Walks En Pointe”, Thana Niveau (The Burning Circus)
  • “Family Business”, Adrian Tchaikovsky (The Alchemy Press Book of Urban Mythic)
  • “Moonstruck”, Karin Tidbeck (Shadows & Tall Trees #5)
  • “The Fox”, Conrad Williams (This Is Horror)

Best Collection

  • North American Lake Monsters, Nathan Ballingrud (Small Beer)
  • Holes for Faces, Ramsey Campbell (Dark Regions)
  • For Those Who Dream Monsters, Anna Taborska (Mortbury)
  • Monsters in the Heart, Stephen Volk (Gray Friar)

Best Anthology

  • The Tenth Black Book of Horror, Charles Black, ed. (Mortbury)
  • Fearie Tales, Stephen Jones, ed. (Jo Fletcher)
  • End of the Road, Jonathan Oliver, ed. (Solaris)
  • Rustblind and Silverbright, David Rix, ed. (Eibonvale)
  • Tales of Eve, Mhairi Simpson, ed. (Fox Spirit)

Best Small Press (the PS Publishing Independent Press Award)

  • The Alchemy Press (Peter Coleborn)
  • Fox Spirit Books (Adele Wearing)
  • NewCon Press (Ian Whates)
  • Spectral Press (Simon Marshall-Jones)

Best Non-Fiction

  • Fantasy Faction, Marc Aplin, ed.
  • Doors to Elsewhere, Mike Barrett (The Alchemy Press)
  • ‘‘We Have Always Fought: Challenging the Women, Cattle and Slaves Narrative’’, Kameron Hurley (A Dribble of Ink 5/20/13)
  • Speculative Fiction 2012, Justin Landon & Jared Shurin, eds. (Jurassic London)
  • Gestalt Real-Time Reviews, D.F. Lewis

Best Magazine/Periodical

  • Clarkesworld, Neil Clarke & Sean Wallace, eds. (Wyrm)
  • Black Static, Andy Cox, ed. (TTA Press)
  • Interzone, Andy Cox, ed. (TTA Press)
  • Shadows & Tall Trees, Michael Kelly, ed. (Undertow)

Best Artist

  • Ben Baldwin
  • Vincent Chong
  • Joey Hi-Fi
  • Tula Lotay
  • Adam Oehlers
  • Daniele Serra

Best Comic/Graphic Novel

  • The Unwritten, Mike Carey & Peter Gross (Vertigo)
  • Demeter, Becky Cloonan (Becky Cloonan)
  • Rachel Rising, Terry Moore (Abstract Studio)
  • Porcelain, Benjamin Read & Chris Wildgoose (Improper Books)
  • Saga, Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples (Image Comics)
  • Jennifer Wilde, Maura McHugh, Karen Mahoney & Stephen Downey (Atomic Diner Comics)

Best Film/Television Episode

  • Game of Thrones: ‘‘The Rains of Castamere’’
  • Gravity
  • Doctor Who: ‘‘The Day of the Doctor’’
  • Iron Man 3
  • The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Best Newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award)

  • Francis Knight, for Fade to Black (Orbit)
  • Laura Lam, for Pantomime (Strange Chemistry)
  • Ann Leckie, for Ancillary Justice (Orbit)
  • Libby McGugan, for The Eidolon (Solaris)
  • Emma Newman, for Between Two Thorns (Angry Robot)
  • Samantha Shannon, for The Bone Season (Bloomsbury)

Winners will be chosen by juries, and announced September 6 or 7, 2014 during an awards ceremony at FantasyCon in York, England.