2013 Stoker Awards Winners

The 2013 Bram Stoker Awards have been announced:

Superior Achievement in a Novel

  • Doctor Sleep, Stephen King (Scribner)
  • NOS4A2, Joe Hill (Morrow)
  • Malediction, Lisa Morton (Evil Jester)
  • A Necessary End, Sarah Pinborough & F. Paul Wilson (Thunderstorm/Maelstrom)
  • The Heavens Rise, Christopher Rice (Gallery)

Superior Achievement in a First Novel

  • The Evolutionist, Rena Mason (Nightscape)
  • Candy House, Kate Jonez (Evil Jester)
  • The Year of the Storm, John Mantooth (Berkley)
  • Redheads, Jonathan Moore (Samhain)
  • Stoker’s Manuscript, Royce Prouty (Putnam)

Superior Achievement in a YA Novel

  • Dog Days, Joe McKinney (JournalStone)
  • Special Dead, Patrick Freivald (JournalStone)
  • Unbreakable, Kami Garcia (Little, Brown)
  • Project Cain, Geoffrey Girard (Simon & Schuster)
  • In the Shadow of Blackbirds, Cat Winters (Abrams)

Superior Achievement Long Fiction

  • “The Great Pity”, Gary Braunbeck (Chiral Mad 2)
  • “The Bluehole”, Dale Bailey (F&SF 5-6/13)
  • “The Slaughter Man”, Benjamin K. Ethridge (Limbus, Inc.)
  • “No Others Are Genuine”, Gregory Frost (Asimov’s 10-11/13)
  • House of Rain, Greg F. Gifune (DarkFuse)
  • East End Girls, Rena Mason (JournalStone)

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction

  • “Night Train to Paris”, David Gerrold (F&SF 1-2/13)
  • “Primal Tongue”, Michael Bailey (Zippered Flesh 2)
  • “Snapshot”, Patrick Freivald (Blood & Roses)
  • “The Hunger Artist”, Lisa Mannetti (Zippered Flesh 2)
  • “The Geminis”, John Palisano (Chiral Mad 2)
  • “Code 666”, Michael Reaves (F&SF 3-4/13)

Superior Achievement in an Anthology

  • After Death…, Eric J. Guignard, ed. (Dark Moon)
  • Horror Library: Volume 5, R.J. Cavender & Boyd E. Harris, ed. (Cutting Block)
  • Barbers & Beauties, Michael Knost & Nancy Eden Siegel, ed. (Hummingbird House)
  • The Grimscribe’s Puppets, Joseph S. Pulver, Sr., ed. (Miskatonic River)
  • Dark Visions: A Collection of Modern Horror, Volume One, Anthony Rivera & Sharon Lawson, ed. (Grey Matter)

Superior Achievement in a Collection

  • The Beautiful Thing That Awaits Us All and Other Stories, Laird Barron (Night Shade)
  • North American Lake Monsters: Stories, Nathan Ballingrud (Small Beer)
  • The Tears of Isis, James Dorr (Perpetual Motion Machine)
  • The Ape’s Wife and Other Stories, Caitlìn R. Kiernan (Subterranean)
  • Dance of the Blue Lady, Gene O’Neill (Bad Moon)
  • Bible Stories for Secular Humanists, S.P. Somtow (Diplodocus)

Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction

  • Nolan on Bradbury: Sixty Years of Writing about the Master of Science Fiction, William F. Nolan (Hippocampus)
  • Images of the Modern Vampire: The Hip and the Atavistic, Barbara Brodman & James E. Doan, eds. (Fairleigh Dickinson)
  • Ramsey Campbell: Critical Essays on the Modern Master of Horror, Gary William Crawford, ed. (Scarecrow)
  • The Intermedial Experience of Horror: Suspended Failures, Jarkko Toikkanen (Palgrave Macmillan)
  • Lovecraft and Influence: His Predecessors and Successors, Robert H. Waugh, ed. (Scarecrow)

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

  • Four Elements, Marge Simon, Rain Graves, Charlee Jacob, & Linda Addison (Bad Moon/Evil Jester)
  • Dark Roads: Selected Long Poems 1971-2012, Bruce Boston (Dark Renaissance)
  • The Sex Lives of Monsters, Helen Marshall (Kelp Queen)
  • Dangerous Dreams, Marge Simon & Sandy DeLuca (Elektrik Milk Bath)
  • Hysteria: A Collection of Madness, Stephanie M. Wytovich (Raw Dog Screaming)

Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel

  • Alabaster: Wolves, Caitlìn R. Kiernan (Dark Horse)
  • Fatale Book Three: West of Hell, Ed Brubaker (Image)
  • Witch Doctor, Vol. 2: Mal Practice, Brandon Seifert (Image)
  • Sin Titulo, Cameron Stewart (Dark Horse)
  • Colder, Paul Tobin (Dark Horse)

Superior Achievement in a Screenplay

  • The Walking Dead: “Welcome to the Tombs”, Glen Mazzara (AMC TV)
  • The Returned: “The Horde”, Fabien Adda & Fabrice Gobert (Ramaco Media I, Castelao Pictures)
  • American Horror Story: Asylum: “Spilt Milk”, Brad Falchuk (Brad Falchuk Teley-Vision, Ryan Murphy Productions)
  • Hannibal: “Apéritif”, Bryan Fuller (Dino De Laurentiis Company, Living Dead Guy Productions, AXN: Original X Production, Gaumont International Television)
  • Dracula: “A Whiff of Sulfur”, Daniel Knauf (Flame Ventures, Playground, Universal Television, Carnival Films)

R.L. Stine and Stephen Jones were the recipients of the Horror Writer’s Association Life Achievement Awards, as previously announced. Gray Friar Press won the Specialty Press Award, and the Silver Hammer Award, presented for outstanding service to HWA, went to Norman Rubenstein. The President’s Richard Laymon Service Award was given to J.G. Faherty.

Winners were announced May 10, 2014 at the 27th annual Bram Stoker Awards banquet during the World Horror Convention 2014 in Portland OR.