2013 Shirley Jackson Award Nominees

The 2013 Shirley Jackson Awards nominees have been announced. The awards are presented for outstanding achievement in horror, psychological suspense, and dark fantasy fiction.


  • American Elsewhere, Robert Jackson Bennett (Orbit)
  • The Ghost Bride, Yangsze Choo (William Morrow)
  • The Accursed, Joyce Carol Oates (Ecco)
  • Night Film, Marisha Pessl (Random House)
  • The Demonologist, Andrew Pyper (Orion UK; Simon & Schuster US)
  • Wild Fell, Michael Rowe (ChiZine)


  • “The Gateway”, Nina Allan (Stardust)
  • The Last Revelation of Gla’aki, Ramsey Campbell (PS Publishing)
  • Children of No One, Nicole Cushing (DarkFuse)
  • Whom the Gods Would Destroy, Brian Hodge (DarkFuse)
  • It Sustains, Mark Morris (Earthling)
  • Helen’s Story, Rosanne Rabinowitz (PS Publishing)
  • “Burning Girls”, Veronica Schanoes (Tor.com 6/13)


  • “My Heart is Either Broken”, Megan Abbott (Dangerous Women)
  • Cry Murder! In a Small Voice, Greer Gilman (Small Beer)
  • “A Little of the Night”, Tanith Lee (Clockwork Phoenix 4)
  • “Phosphorus”, Veronica Schanoes (Queen Victoria’s Book of Spells)
  • “Raptors”, Conrad Williams (Subterranean Winter 2013)


  • “The Traditional”, Maria Dahvana Headley (Lightspeed 5/13)
  • “Furnace”, Livia Llewellyn (The Grimscribe’s Puppets)
  • “The Memory Book”, Maureen McHugh (Queen Victoria’s Book of Spells: An Anthology of Gaslamp Fantasy)
  • “57 Reasons for the Slate Quarry Suicides”, Sam J. Miller (Nightmare 12/13)
  • “The Statue in the Garden”, Paul Park (Exotic Gothic 5)
  • “That Tiny Flutter of the Heart”, Robert Shearman (Psycho-Mania!)


  • North American Lake Monsters, Nathan Ballingrud (Small Beer)
  • Before and Afterlives, Christopher Barzak (Lethe)
  • In Search of and Others, Will Ludwigsen (Lethe)
  • The Story Until Now, Kit Reed (Wesleyan)
  • Everything You Need, Michael Marshall Smith (Earthling)


  • Where thy Dark Eye Glances: Queering Edgar Allan Poe, Steve Berman, ed. (Lethe)
  • Queen Victoria’s Book of Spells, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Tor)
  • End of the Road, Jonathan Oliver, ed. (Solaris)
  • The Grimscribe’s Puppets, Joseph S. Pulver, Sr., ed. (Miskatonic River)
  • The Book of the Dead, Jared Shurin, ed. (Jurassic London)

The awards will be presented on on Sunday, July 13, 2014 at Readercon 25 in Burlington MA.