2013 John W. Campbell Memorial Award Finalists

The 2013 John W. Campbell Memorial Award finalists have been named:

  • Lexicon, Max Barry (Penguin)
  • Proxima, Stephen Baxter (Gollancz)
  • The Circle, Dave Eggers (Knopf)
  • We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves, Karen Joy Fowler (Marian Wood/Putnam)
  • Hild, Nicola Griffith (Farrar, Straus, and Giroux)
  • The Cusanus Game, Wolfgang Jeschke (Tor)
  • Ancillary Justice, Ann Leckie (Orbit)
  • The Disestablishment of Paradise, Phillip Mann (Gollancz)
  • Evening’s Empires, Paul McAuley (Gollancz)
  • The Red: First Light, Linda Nagata (Mythic Island Press)
  • The Adjacent, Christopher Priest (Gollancz)
  • On the Steel Breeze, Alastair Reynolds (Gollancz)
  • Shaman, Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit)
  • Neptune’s Brood, Charles Stross (Ace)
  • Strange Bodies, Marcel Theroux (Faber & Faber/Farrar, Straus, and Giroux)

The award, for best SF novel, will be presented during the Campbell Conference, to be held June 13-15, 2014 at the Oread Hotel in Lawrence KS.