Winters Wins Philip K. Dick Award

Countdown City by Ben Winters (Quirk) is the winner of the 2013 Philip K. Dick Award, announced on Friday, April 18, 2014, at Norwescon 37 in SeaTac WA.

Self-Reference Engine by Toh EnJoe, translated by Terry Gallagher (Haikasoru) received a special citation.

The Philip K. Dick Award is presented annually with the support of the Philip K. Dick Trust for distinguished science fiction published in paperback original form in the United States. The award is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the Philip K. Dick Trust and the award ceremony is sponsored by the NorthWest Science Fiction Society. The 2013 judges included Elizabeth Bear (chair), Siobhan Carroll, Michael Kandel, Jamil Nasir, and Tim Sullivan. This year’s judges are Jon Armstrong, Ritch Calvin, Ellen Klages, Laura J. Mixon, and Michaela Roessner.

For more, see