The 2014 David Gemmell Awards Shortlist

The 2014 David Gemmell Legend Awards finalists have been announced:

The Legend Award for Best Fantasy Novel

  • The Daylight War, Peter V Brett (Harper Collins UK)
  • Emperor of Thorns, Mark Lawrence (Harper Collins UK)
  • The Republic of Thieves, Scott Lynch (Gollancz)
  • A Memory of Light, Brandon Sanderson & Robert Jordan (Tor/Forge)
  • War Master’s Gate, Adrian Tchaikovsky (Tor UK)

The Morningstar Award for Best Fantasy Newcomer

  • The Garden of Stones, Mark T Barnes (47 North)
  • Headtaker, David Guymer (Black Library)
  • Promise of Blood, Brian McLellan (Orbit)
  • The Path of Anger, Antoine Rouaud (Gollancz)
  • The Grim Company, Luke Scull (Head of Zeus)

The Ravenheart Award for Best Fantasy Cover Art

  •  Benjamin Carre for the cover of The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch (Gollancz)
  • Jason Chan for the cover of Emperor of Thorns by Mark Lawrence (Harper Collins UK)
  • Cheol Joo Lee for the cover of Skarsnik by Guy Haley (Black Library)
  • Gene Mollica & Michael Frost for the cover of Promise of Blood by Brian McClellan (Orbit)
  • Rhett Podersoo for the cover of She Who Waits by Daniel Polansky (Hodder)

The winners will be announced June 13, 2014 in a ceremony at the Magic Circle in London.