2013 Kitschie Winners

Winners for the 2013 Kitschies, awarded to “the year’s most progressive, intelligent, and entertaining works of genre literature published in the UK,” were announced at a ceremony on February 12, 2014,  held at the Seven Dials Club in Covent Garden, London.

Red Tentacle (Novel)

  • A Tale for the Time Being, Ruth Ozeki (Canongate)
  • Red Doc, Anne Carson (Jonathan Cape)
  • Bleeding Edge, Thomas Pynchon (Jonathan Cape)
  • More Than This, Patrick Ness (Walker)
  • The Machine, James Smythe (HarperCollins/Blue Door)

Golden Tentacle (Debut Novel)

  • Ancillary Justice, Ann Leckie (Orbit)
  • Stray, Monica Hesse (Hot Key)
  • A Calculated Life, Anne Charnock (47 North)
  • Nexus, Ramez Naam (Angry Robot)
  • Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore, Robin Sloan (Atlantic)

Inky Tentacle (Cover Art)

  • The Age Atomic, Adam Christopher (Angry Robot) / Art by Will Staehle
  • Dreams and Shadows, C. Robert Cargill (Gollancz) / Design and illustration by Sinem Erkas
  • Homeland and Pirate Cinema, Cory Doctorow (Titan) / Design by Amazing15
  • Stray, Monica Hesse (Hot Key) / Art by Gianmarco Magnani, Design by Jet Purdie
  • Apocalypse Now Now, Charlie Human (Century) / Art by Joey Hi-Fi

There was also a discretionary prize for outstanding contribution to the conversation surrounding genre literature, The Black Tentacle, which was awarded to Dame Malorie Blackman, author of the Noughts and Crosses series, Boys Don’t Cry, Noble Conflict, and other titles.

The winner of the Red Tentacle received £1,000, and winners of the Golden Tentacle and Inky Tentacle won £500 each. All finalists received a hand-crafted tentacle trophy and a bottle of rum from award sponsor The Kraken Rum.

Finalists were chosen from over 200 submissions sent by over 50 publishers/imprints. Fiction winners were selected by judges Kate Griffin, Nick Harkaway, Will Hill, Anab Jain, and Annabel Wright. Judges for the art award are Craig Kennedy, Sarah Anne Langton, Hazel Thompson, and Emma Vieceli.

For more: www.thekitschies.com.