Delany Named Grand Master

The Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America have named Samuel R. Delany, 71, the recipient of the 2013 Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award. Delany is the author of many classic novels and short stories, an impressive body of criticism, and non-fiction on the art and craft of writing. He has won four Nebula Awards, two Hugo Awards, a J. Lloyd Eaton Lifetime Achievement Award in Science Fiction, and was inducted into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame in 2002, among many other honors.

The Grand Master award, given for “lifetime achievement in science fiction and/or fantasy,” will be presented at the 49th Annual Nebula Awards Weekend in San Jose CA, May 15-18, 2014. Previous recipients of the award include such luminaries as Ursula K. Le Guin, Isaac Asimov, Ray Bradbury, Connie Willis, Anne McCaffrey, Joe Haldeman, and Gene Wolfe.