IMPAC Dublin Award Longlist

The nominations for the 2014 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award longlist have been announced, and include several works of genre interest: The Chemistry of Tears, Peter Carey (Knopf); Telegraph Avenue, Michael Chabon; The Round House, Louise Erdrich (Harper); The Dog Stars, Peter Heller (Vintage); The Snow Child, Eowyn Ivey (Back Bay); The Vanishers, Heidi Julavits (Doubleday); Sea Hearts, Margo Lanagan (Allen & Unwin); Railsea, China Miéville (Del Rey); Mudwoman, Joyce Carol Oates (Ecco); The Casual Vacancy, J.K. Rowling (Little, Brown); Dominion, C.J. Sansom (Mulholland); Umbrella, Will Self (Grove); and The Prisoner of Heaven, Carlos Ruiz Zafón (Harper).

A total of 152 titles were nominated by libraries in 110 cities and 39 countries worldwide. The shortlist will be announced on April 9, 2014, and the winner, which will receive a €100,000 prize, will be announced on June 12, 2014. The shortlist and winner are chosen by the 2014 judging panel.