Elgin Award Winners

The Science Fiction Poetry Association announced the creation of the Elgin Award, a new prize to be given annually to the best poetry chapbook and the best full-length poetry book in the speculative genre. The Elgin Award is named after the founder of SFPA, Suzette Haden Elgin.

The winners and runners-up of the 2013 Elgin Award are:


  • 1st Place: Out of the Black Forest, F.J. Bergmann (Centennial)
  • 2nd Place: The House of Forever, Samantha Henderson (Raven Electrick Ink)
  • 3rd Place: The Edible Zoo, David Kopaska-Merkel (Sam’s Dot)


  • 1st Place: Lovers & Killers, Mary Turzillo (Dark Regions)
  • 2nd Place: Notes From the Shadow City, Gary W. Crawford & Bruce Boston (Dark Regions)
  • 3rd Place: Come Late to the Love of Birds, Sandra Kasturi (Tightrope)