2013 Sunburst Award Shortlist

Finalists for the 13th annual Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic have been announced:


  • Finton Moon, Gerard Collins (Killick)
  • Maleficium, Martine Desjardins; translated by Fred A. Reed & David Homel  (Talonbooks)
  • Over the Darkened Landscape, Derryl Murphy (Fairwood)
  • The Blondes, Emily Schultz (Doubleday Canada)
  • Westlake Soul, Rio Youers (ChiZine)

Young Adult:

  • The Green Man, Michael Bedard (Tundra)
  • Pirate Cinema, Cory Doctorow (Tor Teen)
  • Seraphina, Rachel Hartman (Doubleday Canada)
  • Bright’s Light, Susan Juby (HarperCollins)
  • Rebel Heart, Moira Young (Doubleday Canada)

Winners will be announced in fall 2013, and each will receive a cash prize of $1,000 and a hand-crafted medallion featuring a sunburst logo designed by Marcel Gagné. Jurors for 2013 are Rebecca Bradley, Tony Burgess, Shari Lapeña, Barbara Roden, and Leon Rooke.

For more information, see The Sunburst Award Society.