Sturgeon Award Finalists

The finalists for the 2013 Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award have been announced:

  • “Things Greater Than Love”, Kate Bachus (Strange Horizons 3/19/12)
  • “Immersion”, Aliette de Bodard (Clarkesworld 6/12)
  • “Scattered Along the River of Heaven”, Aliette  de Bodard (Clarkesworld 1/12)
  • “The Grinnell Method”, Molly Gloss (Strange Horizons 9/3/12 & 9/10/12)
  • After the Fall, Before the Fall, During the Fall, Nancy Kress (Taychon)
  • “The Weight of History, the Lightness of the Future”, Jay Lake (Subterranean Spring 2012)
  • “The Bookmaking Habits of Select Species”, Ken Liu (Lightspeed 8/12)
  • “Mono No Aware”, Ken Liu (The Future Is Japanese)
  • “Nahiiku West”, Linda Nagata (Analog 10/12)
  • Eater of Bone, Robert Reed (PS Publishing)
  • “The Peak of Eternal Light”, Bruce Sterling (Edge of Infinity)
  • “(To See the Other) Whole Against the Sky”, E. Catherine Tobler (Clarkesworld 11/12)

“Close Encounters” by Andy Duncan (The Pottawottamie Giant) was a finalist, but Duncan, a juror, removed it from consideration.

The award will be presented during the Campbell Conference Awards Banquet, to be held July 13-16, 2013 at the Oread Hotel in Lawrence KS.