2012 Aurealis Awards Winners

Winners have been announced for the 2012 Aurealis Awards, honoring SF, fantasy, and horror by Australians:

Best Science Fiction Novel

  • The Rook, Daniel O’Malley (Harper Collins)

Best Science Fiction Short Story

Best Fantasy Novel

Best Fantasy Short Story

  • “Sanaa’s Army”, Joanne Anderton (Bloodstones)
  • “The Stone Witch”, Isobelle Carmody (Under My Hat)
  • “First They Came”, Deborah Kalin (Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine 55)
  • “The Isles of the Sun”, Margo Lanagan (Cracklescape)

Best Horror Novel

Best Horror Short Story

  • “Sanaa’s Army”, Joanne Anderton (Bloodstones)
  • “Elyora”, Jodi Cleghorn (Review of Australian Fiction)
  • “To Wish Upon a Clockwork Heart”, Felicity Dowker (Bread and Circuses)
  • “Escena de un Asesinato”, Robert Hood (Exotic Gothic 4)

Best Young Adult Novel (tie)

Young Adult Short Story

  • “The Wisdom of the Ants”, Thoraiya Dyer (Clarkesworld 12/12)
  • “Stilled Lifes x 11”, Justin D’Ath (Trust Me Too)
  • “Rats”, Jack Heath (Trust Me Too)
  • “The Statues of Melbourne”, Jack Nicholls (Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine 56)
  • “The Worry Man”, Adrienne Tam (self-published)

Best Collection

  • That Book Your Mad Ancestor Wrote, K.J. Bishop (self-published)
  • Metro Winds, Isobelle Carmody (Allen & Unwin)
  • Midnight and Moonshine, Lisa L. Hanett & Angela Slatter (Ticonderoga)
  • Living With the Dead, Martin Livings (Dark Prints)
  • Through Splintered Walls, Kaaron Warren (Twelfth Planet)

Best Anthology

  • The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year: Volume 6, Jonathan Strahan, ed. (Night Shade)
  • The Year’s Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2011, Liz Grzyb & Talie Helene, eds. (Ticonderoga Publications)
  • Bloodstones, Amanda Pillar, ed. (Ticonderoga)
  • Under My Hat, Jonathan Strahan, ed. (Random House)
  • Edge of Infinity, Jonathan Strahan, ed. (Solaris)

Best Children’s Fiction (told primarily through words)

Best Children’s Fiction (told primarily through pictures)

Best Illustrated Book/Graphic Novel

  • Blue, Pat Grant (author and illustrator) (Top Shelf Comix)

Kate Eltham received the Peter McNamara Convenors’ Award for Excellence, and Laura Goodin was given the Kris Hembury Encouragement Award. Winners were announced on May 18, 2013 at the annual Aurealis Awards ceremony at the Independent Theatre in North Sydney, Australia. Details at the Aurealis Awards website.