Terry Pratchett Prize Shortlist

The Terry Pratchett Anywhere But Here, Anywhen But Now First Novel Prize shortlist has been announced:

  • The Unspoken Death of the Amazing Flying Boy by Jean Burdett
  • Bloodline by Sophie Constable
  • The Hive by Alexander Maskill
  • The Way Through the Woods by Robin Pearson
  • A Kill in the Morning by Graeme Shimmin
  • The Shadows of Annwn by Catherine Whittle

The award, launched in 2010 by Terry Pratchett and Transworld, is for an unpublished first novel “set on Earth, although it may be an Earth that might have been, or might yet be, one that has gone down a different leg of the famous trousers of time.”

The winning writer will be offered a £20,000 prize as an advance against royalties on a publishing contract.

Judges will be Terry Pratchett; Rob Wilkins; Alex Veasey from Forbidden Planet; Simon Taylor, Editorial Director at Transworld; and Lynsey Dalladay, Pratchett’s publicist. The winner will be announced May 31, 2013.

Contest details are available at Pratchett’s official website.