Buchanan and Sagan Win Solstice Awards

SFWA has announced that Carl Sagan and Ginjer Buchanan are the recipients of the 2013 Solstice Awards. The awards will be presented during the Nebula Awards Weekend in San Jose CA, May 16-19, 2013.

The award, created in 2008 and given at the discretion of the SFWA president with the majority approval of the Board of Directors, is for individuals, living or dead, who have had “a significant impact on the science fiction or fantasy landscape, and is particularly intended for those who have consistently made a major, positive difference within the speculative fiction field.” Previous winners are Alice B. Sheldon (AKA James Tiptree, Jr.), Michael Whelan, Kate Wilhelm, Tom Doherty, Terri Windling, Donald A. Wollheim, Octavia Butler, and John Clute.

For more, see the SFWA website.