2012 BSFA Awards Winners

The BSFA Awards winners were announced at Eastercon 64 in Bradford, England, taking place March 29 – April 1, 2013.


  • Jack Glass, Adam Roberts (Gollancz)
  • Dark Eden, Chris Beckett (Corvus)
  • Empty Space: a Haunting, M. John Harrison (Gollancz)
  • Intrusion, Ken Macleod (Orbit)
  • 2312, Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit)


  • “Adrift on the Sea of Rains”, Ian Sales (Whippleshield Books)
  • “Immersion”, Aliette de Bodard (Clarkesworld #69)
  • “The Flight of the Ravens”, Chris Butler (Immersion Press)
  • “Song of the body Cartographer”, Rochitta Loenen-Ruiz (Phillipines Genre Stories)
  • “Limited Edition”, Tim Maughan (Arc 1.3)
  • “Three Moments of an Explosion”, China Mieville (Rejectamentalist Manifesto)


  • Blacksheep for the cover of Adam Roberts’ Jack Glass (Gollancz)
  • Ben Baldwin for the cover of Dark Currents (Newcon Press)
  • Dominic Harmon for the cover of Eric Brown’s Helix Wars (Rebellion)
  • Joey Hifi for the cover of Simon Morden’s Thy Kingdom Come (Jurassic London)
  • Si Scott for the cover of Chris Beckett’s Dark Eden (Corvus)


  • The World SF Blog, Chief Editor Lavie Tidhar
  • “The Complexity of the Humble Space Suit” , Karen Burnham (Rocket Science, Mutation Press)
  • “The Widening Gyre”, Paul Kincaid (Los Angeles Review of Books)
  • The Cambridge Companion to Fantasy Literature, Edward James & Farah Mendlesohn (Cambridge University Press)
  • “The Shortlist Project”,  Maureen Kincaid Speller

More details may be found at the BSFA website.