AEVVA Award Winner Announced

Alphanauts by Brian J. Clarke (Edge) won the inaugural A.E. van Vogt Award (AEVVA) for 2012 — awarded to a first edition full-length science fiction novel or anthology, written by an author linked to Western Canada by birth or residency. The award was announced on January 2, 2013, and a website with more information is forthcoming. The other finalists were The Other by Matthew Hughes (Underland) and Lady of Mazes by Karl Schroeder (Tor).

The award is sponsored by the Winnipeg Science Fiction Association; Conadian, the 1994 Worldcon; and Science Fiction Winnipeg. It was named after A.E. van Vogt, Canada’s only Grand Master SF author. The winner will receive a C$1,200 cash award and a certificate.