2012 British Fantasy Awards Winners

The British Fantasy Society has announced the winners for the 2012 British Fantasy Awards:

Best Novel (There are two awards in the best Novel category: The August Derleth Fantasy Award for best horror novel and the Robert Holdstock Award for best fantasy novel):

The Robert Holdstock Award (fantasy)

  • Among Others, Jo Walton (Tor)

The August Derleth Fantasy Award (horror)

  • The Ritual, Adam Nevill (Pan)
  • The Heroes, Joe Abercrombie (Gollancz)
  • 11.22.63, Stephen King (Hodder & Stoughton)
  • Cyber Circus, Kim Lakin-Smith (NewCon)
  • A Dance With Dragons, George R.R. Martin (Harper Voyager)

Best Novella

  • Terra Damnata, James Cooper (PS)
  • “Ghosts with Teeth”, Peter Crowther (A Book of Horrors)
  • “Near Zennor”, Elizabeth Hand (A Book of Horrors)
  • “The Music of Bengt Karlsson, Murderer”, John Ajvide Lindqvist (A Book of Horrors)
  • “Alice Through the Plastic Sheet”, Robert Shearman (A Book of Horrors)

Best Short Story

  • “The Coffin-Maker’s Daughter”, Angela Slatter (A Book of Horrors)
  • “Dermot”, Simon Bestwick (Black Static 8-9/11)
  • King Death, Paul Finch (Spectral)
  • “Sad, Dark Thing”, Michael Marshall Smith (A Book of Horrors)
  • “Florrie”, Adam Nevill (House of Fear)

Best Anthology

  • The Weird, Jeff & Ann VanderMeer, eds. (Corvus)
  • A Book of Horrors, Stephen Jones, ed. (Jo Fletcher)
  • House of Fear, Jonathan Oliver, ed. (Solaris)
  • Gutshot, Conrad Williams, ed. (PS Publishing)

Best Collection

Best Non-Fiction

Best Artist

  • Daniele Serra
  • Ben Baldwin
  • Vincent Chong
  • Les Edwards

Best Small Press (The PS Publishing Independent Press Award)

  • Chomu Press; Quentin S. Crisp
  • Gray Friar Press; Gary Fry
  • NewCon Press; Ian Whates
  • Spectral Press; Simon Marshall-Jones

Best Magazine

  • Black Static
  • Interzone
  • SFX
  • The Horror Zine

Best Graphic Novel

  • Locke and Key, Joe Hill & Gabriel Rodriguez (IDW)
  • Animal Man, Jeff Lemire & Travel Foreman (DC)
  • Batwoman, J.H. Williams III & W. Haden Blackman (DC)
  • The Unwritten, Mike Carey & Peter Gross (Vertigo)
  • The Walking Dead, Robert Kirkman & Charlie Adlard (Image)

There is also a winner in the screenplay category. Voting was open to all current members of the BFS, plus members of FantasyCon 2011 and FantasyCon 2012 who registered before March 31, 2012. Winners were announced at this year’s British Fantasy Convention, FantasyCon 2012, held September 27 – 30, 2012 at the Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton, UK.