Million Writers Award Winners

The winner and runners-up of the 9th annual Million Writers Award for best online fiction, given by storySouth, were announced July 9, 2011.

First place: “The Mill Pond”, xTx (StoryGlossia)

Runner-up: “On Familiar Terms”, Kelly Cherry (Blackbird)

Honorable mention: “The Butcher’s Chimes”, Micah Dean Hicks (Menda City Review)

The first place winner received a cash prize of $500, $250 for the runner-up, and $100 for the honorable mention, plus gift cards and free books.

The Million Writers Award is given annually to a fictional story over 1,000 words in length first published in an online magazine.  Nominations for the award were made open to all interested readers, writers, and editors through the storySouth website. Winners were chosen by popular vote.