2012 Prometheus Award Winners

The Libertarian Futurist Society has announced the 2012 Prometheus Award winners:

Best Novel (tie):

  • Ready Player One, Ernest Cline (Crown)
  • The Freedom Maze, Delia Sherman (Small Beer)
  • The Children of the Sky, Vernor Vinge (Tor)
  • In the Shadow of Ares, Thomas L. James & Carl C. Carlsson (self published)
  • The Restoration Game, Ken MacLeod (Pyr)
  • Snuff, Terry Pratchett (Harper Collins)

Hall of Fame:

  • “The Machine Stops”, E.M. Forster (1909)
  • Falling Free, Lois McMaster Bujold (1988)
  • “‘Repent, Harlequin!’ Said the Ticktockman”, Harlan Ellison (1965)
  • “As Easy as A.B.C.”, Rudyard Kipling (1912)

The Prometheus Awards will be presented at Chicon, the 70th annual World Science Fiction Convention, to be held August 30-September 3, 2012, in Chicago, Illinois. Delia Sherman, Ernest Cline and the estate of E.M. Forster will each receive a gold coin and plaque.  This was the first Prometheus nomination for both Sherman and Cline.