2012 Ditmar Award Winners

The 2012 Ditmar Awards for Australian SF were announced at the Continuum 8: Craftonomicon, the 51st Australian National SF Convention, June 8-11, 2012. The winners are:

Best Novel

  • The Courier’s New Bicycle, Kim Westwood (HarperCollins)
  • Debris, Jo Anderton (Angry Robot)
  • Burn Bright, Marianne de Pierres (Random House)
  • The Shattered City, Tansy Rayner Roberts (HarperCollins)
  • Mistification, Kaaron Warren (Angry Robot)

Best Novella or Novelette

  • “The Past is a Bridge Best Left Burnt”, Paul Haines (The Last Days of Kali Yuga)
  • “And the Dead Shall Outnumber the Living”, Deborah Biancotti (Ishtar)
  • “Above”, Stephanie Campisi (Above/ Below)
  • “Below”, Ben Peek (Above/ Below)
  • “Julia Agrippina’s Secret Family Bestiary”, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Love and Romanpunk)

Best Short Story

  • “The Patrician”, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Love and Romanpunk)
  • “Bad Power”, Deborah Biancotti (Bad Power)
  • “Breaking the Ice”, Thoraiya Dyer (Cosmos 37)
  • “The Last Gig of Jimmy Rucker”, Martin Livings & Talie Helene (More Scary Kisses)
  • “Alchemy”, Lucy Sussex (Thief of Lives)
  • “All You Can Do Is Breathe”, Kaaron Warren (Blood and Other Cravings)

Best Collected Work

  • The Last Days of Kali Yuga, Paul Haines (Brimstone)
  • Bad Power, Deborah Biancotti (Twelfth Planet)
  • Nightsiders, Sue Isle (Twelfth Planet)
  • Ishtar, Amanda Pillar & K.V. Taylor, eds. (Gilgamesh)
  • Love and Romanpunk, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Twelfth Planet)

Best Artwork

  • “Finishing School”, Kathleen Jennings in Steampunk! (Candlewick)
  • Cover art, The Freedom Maze (Small Beer), Kathleen Jennings

Best Fan Writer

  • Robin Pen, for The Ballad of the Unrequited Ditmar
  • Bruce Gillespie, for body of work
  • Alexandra Pierce, for body of work
  • Tansy Rayner Roberts, for body of work
  • Sean Wright, for body of work

Best Fan Artist

  • Kathleen Jennings, for work in Errantry (tanaudel.wordpress.com) including “The Dalek Game”
  • Rebecca Ing, for work in Scape
  • Dick Jenssen, for body of work
  • Lisa Rye, for the Steampunk Portal series
  • Rhianna Williams, for work in the Nullas Anxietas Convention Programme Book

Best Fan Publication in Any Medium

  • The Writer and the Critic, Kirstyn McDermott & Ian Mond
  • SF Commentary, Bruce Gillespie, ed.
  • Galactic Suburbia, Alisa Krasnostein, Tansy Rayner Roberts, & Alex Pierce
  • Galactic Chat, Alisa Krasnostein, Tansy Rayner Roberts, & Sean Wright
  • The Coode Street Podcast, Jonathan Strahan & Gary K. Wolfe

Best New Talent

  • Joanne Anderton
  • Alan Baxter
  • Steve Cameron

William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism or Review

  • Alexandra Pierce & Tehani Wessely, for reviews of the Vorkosigan Saga, in Randomly Yours, Alex
  • Russell Blackford, for “Currently reading: Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke”, in Metamagician and the Hellfire Club
  • Damien Broderick & Van Ilkin, for editing Warriors of the Tao: The Best of Science Fiction: A Review of Speculative Literature (Borgo Press)
  • Liz Grzyb & Talie Helene, for “2010: The Year in Review”, in The Year’s Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2010 (Ticonderoga)
  • David McDonald, Tansy Rayner Roberts & Tehani Wessely for “Reviewing New Who” series, in A Conversational Life