McCarthy Wins 2012 Compton Crook Award

The Baltimore Science Fiction Society has announced that T.C. McCarthy’s Germline (Orbit) is the winner of the 2012 Compton Crook/Stephen Tall Award.

The award, which honors the best first SF/fantasy/horror novel of the year, will be presented at Balticon 46, where McCarthy will receive an award plaque and check for $1,000 on May 25, 2012, during the convention’s opening ceremonies. Selection is by vote of the Baltimore Science Fiction Society membership.