SFRA Awards

This year’s Science Fiction Research Association award winners were announced by SFRA president Ritch Calvin:

Pilgrim Award (for life time contributions to SF/F studies):

  • Pamela Sargent

Pioneer Award (for outstanding essay-length work of the year):

  • Winner: “Toward a Cosmopolitan Science Fiction”, David M. Higgins (American Literature 6/11)
  • Honorable Mention: “The Predisposed Agency of Genomic Fiction”, Everett Hamner (American Literature 6/11)
  • Honorable Mention: “Reproductive Technologies, Fetal Icons, and Genetic Freaks: Shelley Jackson’s Patchwork Girl and the Limits of Possibilities of Donna Haraway’s Cyborg“, Heather Latimer (Modern Fiction Studies Summer 2011)

Thomas D. Clareson Award for Distinguished Service:

  • Art Evans

Mary Kay Bray Award (for the best essay, interview, or extended review in the past year’s SFRA Review):

  • Winner: Review of Rise of the Planet of the Apes, T. S. Miller
  • Honorable Mention: “Video Games Studies 101”, Lars Schmeink

Student Essay Award (for best student paper presented at the previous year’s SFRA conference):

  • “Fantastic Voices: Octavia Butler’s First-Person Narrators and ‘The Evening and the Morning and the Night'”, Florian Bast

The SFRA awards will be handed out at the annual SFRA conference in Detroit, June 28-July1, 2012. For more information, see the SFRA website.