2012 Ditmar Awards Ballot

The 2012 Ditmar Awards ballot, for Australian SF, has been announced:

Best Novel

  • Debris (The Veiled Worlds 1), Jo Anderton (Angry Robot)
  • Burn Bright, Marianne de Pierres (Random House Australia)
  • The Shattered City (Creature Court 2), Tansy Rayner Roberts (HarperCollins)
  • Mistification, Kaaron Warren (Angry Robot)
  • The Courier’s New Bicycle, Kim Westwood (HarperCollins)

Best Novella or Novelette

  • “And the Dead Shall Outnumber the Living”, Deborah Biancotti (Ishtar)
  • “Above”, Stephanie Campisi (Above/Below)
  • “The Past is a Bridge Best Left Burnt”, Paul Haines (The Last Days of Kali Yuga)
  • “Below”, Ben Peek (Above/Below)
  • “Julia Agrippina’s Secret Family Bestiary”, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Love and Romanpunk)
  • “The Sleeping and the Dead”, Cat Sparks (Ishtar)

Best Short Story

  • “Bad Power”, Deborah Biancotti (Bad Power)
  • “Breaking the Ice”, Thoraiya Dyer (Cosmos 37)
  • “The Last Gig of Jimmy Rucker”, Martin Livings & Talie Helene (More Scary Kisses)
  • “The Patrician”, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Love and Romanpunk)
  • “Alchemy”, Lucy Sussex (Thief of Lives)
  • “All You Can Do Is Breathe”, Kaaron Warren (Blood and Other Cravings)

Best Collected Work

  • Bad Power, Deborah Biancotti (Twelfth Planet)
  • The Last Days of Kali Yuga, Paul Haines (Brimstone)
  • Nightsiders, Sue Isle (Twelfth Planet)
  • Ishtar, Amanda Pillar & K.V. Taylor, eds. (Gilgamesh)
  • Love and Romanpunk, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Twelfth Planet)

Best Artwork

  • “Finishing School”, Kathleen Jennings, in Steampunk!: An Anthology of Fantastically Rich and Strange Stories (Candlewick)
  • Cover art for The Freedom Maze (Small Beer), Kathleen Jennings

Best Fan Writer

  • Bruce Gillespie, for body of work including “The Golden Age of Fanzines is Now”, and SF Commentary 81 & 82
  • Robin Pen, for “The Ballad of the Unrequited Ditmar”
  • Alexandra Pierce, for body of work including reviews at Australian Speculative Fiction in Focus, Not If You Were The Last Short Story On Earth, and Randomly Yours, Alex
  • Tansy Rayner Roberts, for body of work including reviews at Australian Speculative Fiction in Focus, and Not If You Were The Last Short Story On Earth
  • Sean Wright, for body of work including “Authors and Social Media” series in Adventures of a Bookonaut

Best Fan Artist

  • Rebecca Ing, for work in Scape
  • Kathleen Jennings, for work in Errantry, including “The Dalek Game”
  • Dick Jenssen, for body of work including work in IRS, Steam Engine Time, SF Commentary, and Scratchpad
  • Lisa Rye, for “Steampunk Portal” series
  • Rhianna Williams, for work in Nullas Anxietas Convention Programme Book

Best Fan Publication in Any Medium

  • SF Commentary, Bruce Gillespie, ed.
  • Galactic Chat podcast, Alisa Krasnostein, Tansy Rayner Roberts & Sean Wright
  • Galactic Suburbia podcast, Alisa Krasnostein, Tansy Rayer Roberts, & Alex Pierce
  • The Writer and the Critic podcast, Kirstyn McDermott & Ian Mond
  • The Coode Street podcast, Gary K. Wolfe & Jonathan Strahan

Best New Talent

  • Joanne Anderton
  • Alan Baxter
  • Steve Cameron

William Atheling Jr. Award for Criticism or Review

  • Russell Blackford, for “Currently reading: Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke”, in Metamagician and the Hellfire Club
  • Damien Broderick & Van Ikin, for editing Warriors of the Tao: The Best of Science Fiction: A Review of Speculative Literature
  • Liz Grzyb & Talie Helene, for “2010: The Year in Review”, in The Year’s Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2010
  • David McDonald, Tansy Rayner Roberts & Tehani Wessely, for “Reviewing New Who” series, in A Conversational Life
  • Alexandra Pierce & Tehani Wessely, for reviews of Vorkosigan Saga, in Randomly Yours, Alex

Voting for the Ditmar Awards is conducted in accordance with the rules, and is open to members and supporting members of Continuum 8 and to members of Swancon Thirty Six who were eligible to vote in the 2011 Awards. Voting will remain open until one minute before midnight, Perth time, on Sunday, 27th of
May, 2012 (ie. 11:59 p.m., GMT+8). For more, see the Ditmar Awards Website.

One thought on “2012 Ditmar Awards Ballot

Comments are closed.