2011 Stoker Winners

The 2011 Bram Stoker Awards winners have been announced.

Superior Achievement in a Novel

  • Flesh Eaters, Joe McKinney (Pinnacle)
  • A Matrix of Angels, Christopher Conlon (Creative Guy)
  • Cosmic Forces, Greg Lamberson (Medallion)
  • Floating Staircase, Ronald Malfi (Medallion/Thunderstorm)
  • Not Fade Away, Gene O’Neill (Bad Moon)
  • The German, Thomas Lee (Lethe)

Superior Achievement in a First Novel

  • Isis Unbound, Allyson Bird (Dark Regions)
  • Southern Gods, John Horner Jacobs (Night Shade)
  • The Lamplighters, Frazer Lee (Samhain Horror)
  • The Panama Laugh, Thomas Roche (Night Shade)
  • The Which Should Not Be, Brett J. Talley (JournalStone)

Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel (tie)

  • The Screaming Season, Nancy Holder (Razorbill)
  • Dust & Decay, Jonathan Maberry (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers)
  • Ghosts of Coronado Bay, A Maya Blair Mystery, J.G. Faherty (JournalStone)
  • Rotters, Daniel Kraus (Delacorte)
  • A Monster Calls, Patrick Ness (Candlewick/Walker)
  • This Dark Endeavor: The Apprenticeship of Victor Frankenstein, Kenneth Oppel (Simon & Schuster/David Fickling Books)

Superior Achievement Long Fiction

  • “The Ballad of Ballard and Sandrine”, Peter Straub (Conjunctions 56)
  • “7 Brains”, Michael Louis Calvillo (Burning Effigy Press)
  • “Roots and All”, Brian Hodge (A Book of Horrors)
  • “The Colliers’ Venus (1893)”, Caitlín R. Kiernan (Naked City: New Tales of Urban Fantasy)
  • “Ursa Major”, John R. Little (Bad Moon)
  • “Rusting Chickens”, Gene O’Neill (Dark Regions)

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction

  • “Herman Wouk Is Still Alive”, Stephen King (The Atlantic 5/11)
  • “Her Husband’s Hands”, Adam-Troy Castro (Lightspeed  10/11)
  • “Graffiti Sonata”, Gene O’Neill (Dark Discoveries #18)
  • “X if for Xyx”, John Palisano (M Is for Monster)
  • “Home”, George Saunders (The New Yorker 6/13/11)
  • “All You Can Do Is Breathe”, Kaaron Warren (Blood and Other Cravings)

Superior Achievement in an Anthology

  • Demons: Encounters with the Devil and his Minions, Fallen Angels and the Possessed, John Skipp, ed. (Black Dog and Leventhal)
  • NEHW Presents: Epitaphs, Tracey L. Carbone, ed. (NEHW)
  • Ghosts By Gaslight, Jack Dann & Nick Gevers, eds. (Harper Voyager)
  • Blood and Other Cravings, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Tor)
  • Supernatural Noir, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Dark Horse)
  • Tattered Souls 2, Frank J. Hutton, ed. (Cutting Block)

Superior Achievement in a Collection

  • The Corn Maiden and Other Nightmares, Joyce Carol Oates (Mysterious Press)
  • Voices: Tales of Horror, Lawrence C. Connolly (Fantasist Enterprises)
  • Red Gloves, Christopher Fowler (PS)
  • Two Worlds and In Between: The Best of Caitlin R. Kiernan (Volume One), Caitlin R. Kiernan (Subterranean)
  • Monsters of L.A., Lisa Morton (Bad Moon)
  • Multiplex Fandango, Weston Ochse (Dark Regions)

Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction

  • Stephen King: A Literary Companion, Rocky Wood (McFarland & Company)
  • Halloween Nation: Behind the Scenes of America’s Fright Night, Lesley Pratt Bannatyne (Pelican)
  • Reflections in a Glass Darkly: Essays on J. Sheridan Le Fanu, Gary William Crawford, Jim Rockhill, & Brian J. Showers, eds. (Hippocampus)
  • Starve Better, Nick Mamatas (Apex)
  • Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Zombies, Matt Mogk (Gallery)
  • The Gothic Imagination, John C. Tibbetts (Palgrave)

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

  • How to Recognize a Demon Has Become Your Friend, Linda Addison (Necon)
  • At Louche Ends: Poetry for the Decadent, the Damned & the Absinthe-Minded, Maria Alexander (Burning Effigy)
  • Surrealities, Bruce Boston (Dark Regions)
  • Shroud of Night, G.O. Clark (Dark Regions)
  • The Mad Hattery, Marge Simon (Elektrik Milk Bath)
  • Unearthly Delights, Marge Simon (Sam’s Dot)

Rick Hautala and Joe R. Lansdale are the recipients of the Horror Writer’s Association Life Achievement Awards, as previously announced at Locus Online. Derrick Hussey of Hippocampus Press and Roy Robbins of Bad Moon Books won the Specialty Press Award, and the Silver Hammer Award, presented for outstanding service to HWA, went to Guy Anthony DeMarco. The President’s Richard Laymon Service Award was given to Karen Lansdale.

This year the HWA, in conjunction with the Bram Stoker Family Estate and the Rosenbach Museum & Library, also presented a special, one-time only Vampire Novel of the Century Award to Richard Matheson for I Am Legend.

Winners were announced at the Stoker Weekend in Salt Lake City, Utah, April 1, 2012.

One thought on “2011 Stoker Winners

Comments are closed.