Solstice Awards Winners 2012

SFWA has announced the recipients of the 2012 Solstice Awards: Octavia Butler and John Clute. The awards will be presented during the Nebula Awards Weekend in Arlington VA, May 17-20, 2012.

The award, created in 2008 and given at the discretion of the SFWA president with the majority approval of the Board of Directors, is for individuals, living or dead, who have had “a significant impact on the science fiction or fantasy landscape, and is particularly intended for those who have consistently made a major, positive difference within the speculative fiction field.” Previous winners are Alice B. Sheldon (AKA James Tiptree, Jr.), Michael Whelan, Kate Wilhelm, Tom Doherty, Terri Windling, and Donald A. Wollheim.

For more, see the SFWA website.