2011 Chesley Awards Winners

Winners of the 2011 Chesley Awards, given by the Association of Science Fiction & Fantasy Artists (ASFA) were announced at Renovation, the 69th Worldcon, August 18, 2011.

The winners are highlighted:

Best Cover Illustration – Paperback Book

  • Jason Chan, for Geist by Phillipa Ballantine (Ace)
  • Volkan Baga, for The Zombies of Oz by Christian Endres (Atlantis)
  • Jon Foster, for Dreadnought by Cherie Priest (Tor)
  • Todd Lockwood, for The Ragged Man by Tom Lloyd (Pyr)
  • Stephan Martiniere, for Ares Express by Ian McDonald (Pyr)
  • Anthony Palumbo, for Yarn by Jon Armstrong (Night Shade Books)
  • John Picacio, for Elric: Swords and Roses by Michael Moorcock (Del Rey)
  • Dan Dos Santos, for Alien Tango by Gini Koch (DAW)

Best Cover Illustration – Hardback Book

  • Michael Whelan, for The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson (Tor)
  • Kinuko Y. Craft, for Midsummer Night by Freda Warrington (Tor)
  • Don Maitz, for Blasphemy by Mike Resnick (Golden Gryphon Press)
  • Gregory Manchess, for Spectrum 17 by Cathy Fenner & Arnie Fenner, eds. (Underwood)
  • John Picacio, for The Waters Rising by Sheri S. Tepper; (Harper Voyager)

Best Cover Illustration – Magazine:

  • Nick Greenwood, for Orson Scott Card’s Intergalactic Medicine Show (6/10)
  • Julie Dillon, for Clarkesworld (9/10)
  • David A. Hardy, for Analog (4/10)
  • Andrey Lazarev, for Clarkesworld (11/10)
  • Sergio Rebolledo, for Clarkesworld (1/10)
  • James Ryman, for Heavy Metal (1/10)

Best Interior Illustration:

  • Donato Giancola, Middle Earth: Visions of a Modern Myth by Donato Giancola (Underwood)
  • Jason Chan, “Vilcabamba” by Harry Turtledove (Tor.com 2010)
  • Jon Foster, “Four Horsemen, at Their Leisure” by Richard Parks (Tor.com)
  • John Picacio, Elric: Swords and Roses by Michael Moorcock (Del Rey)
  • Keith Thompson, Behemoth by Scott Westerfeld (Simon Pulse)

Best Three-Dimensional Art:

  • Mark Newman, “Eel Walker”; bronze
  • Thomas S. Kuebler, “Scream Queen”; mixed media
  • David Meng, “Amphibiana”; mixed media
  • Michael Parkes, “The Letter”; bronze
  • Jordu Schell, “Ixana”; mixed media
  • Vincent Villafranca, “The Dogs of War”; bronze

Best Color Work—Unpublished:

  • Julie Dillon, “Planetary Alignment”; digital
  • Daren Bader, “Isis”; oil
  • David A. Hardy, “Portals to Infinity”; acrylic
  • Omar Rayyan, “The Favorite”; oil
  • Matthew Stewart, “Waterfall Dragons”; oil
  • Raoul Vitale, “Torin’s Quest”; oil

Best Monochrome Work – Unpublished:

  • Ian Miller, “Triptych”; ink
  • Eric Braddock, “Highborne”; graphite & white charcoal on toned paper
  • Anthony Francisco, “Tikbalang”; digital
  • Ed Ko, “Drawing for Beautiful Grim”; pencil
  • Petar Meseldžija, “UNK!”; pencil
  • David Palumbo, “Zombie Girl”; acrylic

Best Product Illustration:

  • Sam Weber, Shadow Rising by Robert Jordan, promo art for Tor ebook (1/10)
  • Bob Eggleton, Dragon’s Domain: The Ultimate Dragon Painting Workshop (Impact)
  • Donato Giancola, “St. George and the Dragon”, promo art for Dragon*Con 2010
  • Lars Grant-West, “Pact of the Blind”, promo art for IlluXCon 3
  • David Palumbo, “Transcend (aka Judgment)”, Heavy Metal tarot card; 2010

Best Gaming-Related Illustration:

  • Lucas Graciano, “Amorphous Drake” (Legends of Norrath); Sony Online Entertainment
  • Daarken, “Harbor Serpent” (Magic: the Gathering trading card, Magic 2011 core set); Wizards of the Coast
  • Kekai Kotaki, “Gaea’s Revenge” (Magic: the Gathering trading card, Magic 2011 core set); Wizards of the Coast
  • Howard Lyon, “Eel Umbra” (Magic: the Gathering trading card, “Rise of the Eldrazi” set); Wizards of the Coast
  • Matthew Stewart, “Bloodshot Trainee” (Magic: the Gathering trading card, “Scars of Mirrodin” set); Wizards of the Coast
  • L. A. Williams, “Maritime Guard” (Magic: the Gathering trading card, Magic 2011 core set); Wizards of the Coast

Best Art Director:

  • Jon Schindehette, for Wizards of the Coast
  • Lou Anders, for Pyr
  • Irene Gallo, for Tor
  • William Schafer, for Subterranean
  • David Stevenson, for Ballantine Del Rey

Award for Lifetime Artistic Achievement:

  • Boris Vallejo
  • Brom
  • Jeffrey/Catherine Jones
  • Ian Miller
  • Moebius/Jean Giraud
  • Darrell K. Sweet

For more, including pictures, see Tor.com.