Million Writers Award

The winner and runners-up of the 8th annual Million Writers Award, given by storySouth, were announced July 9, 2011.

First place: “Arvies”,  Adam-Troy Castro (Lightspeed)

Runner-up: “The Incorrupt Body of Carlo Busso”, Eric Maroney (Eclectica)

Honorable mention: “The Green Book”, Amal El-Mohtar (Apex)

The prizes for this year’s award are $600 plus a $100 gift certificate from ThinkGeek for first place, $200 for runner-up, and $100 for honorable mention.

The Million Writers Award is given annually to a fictional story over 1,000 words in length first published in an online magazine.  Nominations for the award were made open to all interested readers, writers, and editors through the storySouth website.

Selections for the award’s shortlist were made by D. Antwan Stewart and Jason Sanford. Winners were chosen by popular vote.