McDonald, Landis win Campbell, Sturgeon Awards

Ian McDonald’s The Dervish House (Gollancz/Pyr) is the winner of this year’s John W. Campbell Memorial Award for best science fiction novel published in 2010, and Geoffrey A. Landis’s novella “The Sultan of the Clouds” (Asimov’s 9/10) is the winner of the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for best short fiction of 2010.

The awards were presented by the Center for the Study of Science Fiction, during the annual Campbell Conference, held July 7-10, 2011 at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas. This is McDonald’s second award from the Center; he won the Sturgeon Award in 2001 for “Tendeleo’s Story”.

2011 finalists were as follows:

John W. Campbell Memorial Award

  • Yarn, Jon Armstrong (Night Shade)
  • Hull Zero Three, Greg Bear (Orbit)
  • Zero History, William Gibson (Putnam)
  • C, Tom McCarthy (Knopf)
  • New Model Army, Adam Roberts (Gollancz)
  • The Quantum Thief, Hannu Rajaniemi (Gollancz/Tor)
  • Veteran, Gavin Smith (Gollancz)
  • The Waters Rising, Sheri S. Tepper (Eos)
  • Aurorarama, Jean-Christophe Valtat (Melville House)
  • Anthill, E. O. Wilson (Norton)
  • Blackout/All Clear, Connie Willis (Spectra)
  • How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe, Charles Yu (Pantheon)

Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award

  • “Mammoths of the Great Plains”, Eleanor Arnason (Mammoths of the Great Plains)
  • “Under the Moons of Venus”, Damien Broderick (Subterranean Spring ’10)
  • “The Maiden Flight of McAuley’s Bellerophon“, Elizabeth Hand (Stories)
  • “Flower, Mercy, Needle, Chain”, Yoon Ha Lee (Lightspeed9/10)
  • “Ghosts Doing the Orange Dance”, Paul Park (F&SF 1-2/10)
  • “Dead Man’s Run”, Robert Reed (F&SF 11-12/10)
  • “Troika”, Alastair Reynolds (Godlike Machines)
  • “A Letter from the Emperor”, Steve Rasnic Tem (Asimov’s 1/10)
  • “The Night Train”, Lavie Tidhar (Strange Horizons 6/14/10)
  • “The Things”, Peter Watts (Clarkesworld 1/10)

3 thoughts on “McDonald, Landis win Campbell, Sturgeon Awards

Comments are closed.