2011 Prometheus Award Winners

The Libertarian Futurist Society has announced the 2011 Prometheus Award winners:

Best Novel:

  • Darkship Thieves, Sarah Hoyt (Baen)
  • For the Win, Cory Doctorow (Tor)
  • The Last Trumpet Project, Kevin MacArdry (www.lasttrumpetproject.com)
  • Live Free or Die, John Ringo (Baen)
  • Ceres, L. Neil Smith (Big Head Press)

Hall of Fame:

  • Animal Farm, George Orwell (1945)
  • Falling Free, Lois McMaster Bujold (1988)
  • “‘Repent, Harlequin!’ Said the Ticktockman”, Harlan Ellison (1965)
  • “The Machine Stops”, E. M. Forster (1909)
  • “As Easy as A.B.C.”, Rudyard Kipling (1912)

The Prometheus Awards will be presented at Renovation, the 69th annual World Science Fiction Convention, to be held August 17-21, 2011, in Reno, Nevada. Sarah Hoyt and the estate of George Orwell will each receive a gold coin and plaque.  Orwell also won the Hall of Fame award for his novel 1984 (in the year 1984, the second year the award was presented). Orwell’s Animal Farm has been a Hall of Fame finalist on multiple occasions.