2010 Shirley Jackson Award Winners

The 2010 Shirley Jackson Awards winners were presented during a ceremony at Readercon 22 in Burlington, Massachusetts on Sunday, July 18th, 2011. The awards are given for outstanding achievement in horror, psychological suspense, and dark fantasy fiction.


  • Mr. Shivers, Robert Jackson Bennett (Orbit)
  • Dark Matter, Michelle Paver (Orion)
  • A Dark Matter, Peter Straub (Doubleday)
  • Feed, Mira Grant (Orbit)
  • The Reapers Are the Angels, Alden Bell (Holt)
  • The Silent Land, Graham Joyce (Gollancz)


  • “Mysterium Tremendum”, Laird Barron (Occultation)
  • The Broken Man, Michael Byers (PS)
  • Chasing the Dragon, Nicholas Kaufmann (ChiZine)
  • One Bloody Thing After Another, Joey Comeau (ECW)
  • Subtle Bodies, Peter Dubé (Lethe)
  • The Thief of Broken Toys, Tim Lebbon (ChiZine)


  • “The Truth Is a Cave in the Black Mountains”, Neil Gaiman (Stories)
  • “–30–”, Laird Barron (Occultation)
  • “The Broadsword”, Laird Barron (Black Wings)
  • “Holderhaven”, Richard Butner (Crimewave 11: Ghosts)
  • “The Redfield Girls”, Laird Barron (Haunted Legends)

Short Story

  • “The Things”, Peter Watts (Clarkesworld 1/10)
  • “As Red as Red”, Caitlín R. Kiernan (Haunted Legends)
  • “Booth’s Ghost”, Karen Joy Fowlder(What I Didn’t See and Other Stories)
  • “The Foxes”, Lily Hoang (Haunted Legends)
  • “six six six”, Laird Barron (Occultation)

Single-Author Collection

  • Occultation, Laird Barron (Night Shade)
  • The Ones That Got Away, Stephen Graham Jones (Prime)
  • The Third Bear, Jeff VanderMeer (Tachyon)
  • What I Didn’t See and Other Stories, Karen Joy Fowler (Small Beer)
  • What Will Come After, Scott Edelman (PS)

Edited Anthology

  • Stories, Neil Gaiman & Al Sarrantonio, eds. (Morrow)
  • Black Wings, S.T. Joshi, ed, (PS)
  • Haunted Legends, Ellen Datlow & Nick Mamatas, eds. (Tor)
  • My Mother, She Killed Me, My Father, He Ate Me, Kate Bernheimer, ed. (Penguin)
  • Swords & Dark Magic, Jonathan Strahan & Lou Anders, eds. (HarperCollins)

A Board of Directors special award to Joyce Carol Oates was also announced.

One thought on “2010 Shirley Jackson Award Winners

Comments are closed.