Locus Awards 2011 Winners

The winners of the 2011 Locus Awards have been announced:

Best Science Fiction Novel

Best Fantasy Novel

  • Kraken, China Miéville (Macmillan UK; Del Rey)

Best First Novel

Best Young Adult Book

Best Novella

  • Bone and Jewel Creatures, Elizabeth Bear (Subterranean)
  • “The Mystery Knight”’, George R.R. Martin (Warriors)
  • “Troika”, Alastair Reynolds (Godlike Machines)
  • “The Lady Who Plucked Red Flowers beneath the Queen’s Window’”, Rachel Swirsky (Subterranean Summer ’10)

Best Novelette

  • “The Truth Is a Cave in the Black Mountains”, Neil Gaiman (Stories)
  • “The Fool Jobs”, Joe Abercrombie (Swords & Dark Magic)
  • “The Mad Scientist’s Daughter”, Theodora Goss (Strange Horizons 1/18-1/25/10)
  • “Plus or Minus”, James Patrick Kelly (Asimov’s 12/10)
  • “Marya and the Pirate”, Geoffrey A. Landis (Asimov’s 1/10)

Best Short Story

  • “The Thing About Cassandra”, Neil Gaiman (Songs of Love and Death)
  • “Booth’s Ghost”, Karen Joy Fowler (What I Didn’t See and Other Stories)
  • “Names for Water”, Kij Johnson (Asimov’s 10-11/10)
  • “Thirteen Ways of Looking at Space/Time”, Catherynne M. Valente (Clarkesworld 8/10)
  • “The Things”, Peter Watts (Clarkesworld 1/10)

Best Magazine

  • Asimov’s
  • Analog
  • F&SF
  • Subterranean

Best Book Publisher

  • Tor
  • Baen
  • Night Shade Books
  • Orbit
  • Subterranean Press

Best Anthology

  • Warriors, George R.R. Martin & Gardner Dozois, eds. (Tor)

Best Collection

Best Editor

  • Ellen Datlow
  • Gardner Dozois
  • Gordon Van Gelder
  • David G. Hartwell
  • Jonathan Strahan

Best Artist

  • Shaun Tan
  • Bob Eggleton
  • Donato Giancola
  • John Picacio
  • Michael Whelan

Best Non-Fiction Book

Best Art Book

Winners were announced during the Science Fiction Awards Weekend in Seattle WA, June 24-26, 2011. Full coverage of the ceremony will run in the August 2011 issue of Locus.