2010 Stoker Winners

The 2010 Stoker Award winners have been announced.

Superior Achievement in a Novel

  • A Dark Matter, Peter Straub (DoubleDay)
  • Horns, Joe Hill (William Morrow)
  • Rot and Ruin, Jonathan Maberry (Simon & Schuster)
  • Dead Love, Linda Watanabe McFerrin (Stone Bridge Press)
  • Apocalypse of the Dead, Joe McKinney (Pinnacle)
  • Dweller, Jeff Strand (Leisure/Dark Regions Press)

Superior Achievement in a First Novel (tie)

  • Black and Orange, Benjamin Kane Ethridge (Bad Moon Books)
  • Castle of Los Angeles, Lisa Morton (Gray Friar)
  • A Book of Tongues, Gemma Files (ChiZine)
  • Spellbent, Lucy Snyder (Del Rey)

Superior Achievement Long Fiction

  • Invisible Fences, Norman Prentiss (Cemetery Dance)
  • The Painted Darkness, Brian James Freeman (Cemetery Dance)
  • Dissolution, Lisa Mannetti (Deathwatch)
  • Monsters Among Us, Kirstyn McDermott (Macabre: A Journey through Australia’s Darkest Fears)
  • The Samhanach, Lisa Morton (Bad Moon Books)

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction

  • “The Folding Man”, Joe R. Lansdale (Haunted Legends)
  • “Return to Mariabronn”, Gary Braunbeck (Haunted Legends)
  • “1925: A Fall River Halloween”, Lisa Mannetti (Shroud Magazine #10)
  • “In the Middle of Poplar Street”, Nate Southard (Dead Set: A Zombie Anthology)
  • “Final Draft”, Mark W. Worthen (Horror Library IV)

Superior Achievement in an Anthology

  • Haunted Legends, Ellen Datlow & Nick Mamatas, eds. (Tor)
  • Dark Faith, Maurice Broaddus & Jerry Gordon, eds. (Apex)
  • Horror Library IV, R.J. Cavender & Boyd E. Harris, eds. (Cutting Block)
  • Macabre: A Journey Through Australia’s Darkest Fears, Angela Challis & Marty Young, eds. (Brimstone Press)
  • The New Dead, Christopher Golden, ed. (St. Martin’s Griffin)

Superior Achievement in a Collection

  • Full Dark, No Stars, Stephen King (Simon & Schuster)
  • Occultation, Laird Barron (Night Shade Books)
  • Blood and Gristle, Michael Louis Calvillo (Bad Moon Books)
  • The Ones That Got Away, Stephen Graham Jones (Prime Books)
  • A Host of Shadows, Harry Shannon (Dark Regions)

Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction

  • To Each Their Darkness, Gary A. Braunbeck (Apex)
  • The Conspiracy Against the Human Race, Thomas Ligotti (Hippocampus)
  • Wanted Undead or Alive, Jonathan Maberry & Janice Gable Bashman (Citadel)
  • Listen to the Echoes: The Ray Bradbury Interviews, Sam Weller (Melville House)

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

  • Dark Matters, Bruce Boston (Bad Moon Books)
  • Wild Hunt of the Stars, Ann K. Schwader (Sam’s Dot)
  • Diary of a Gentleman Diabolist, Robin Spriggs (Anomalous Books)
  • Vicious Romantic, Wrath James White (Needfire Poetry)

Ellen Datlow and Al Feldstein are the recipients of the Horror Writer’s Association Life Achievement Awards, as previously announced at Locus Online. Joe Morey of Dark Regions won the Specialty Press Award, and the Silver Hammer Award, presented for outstanding service to HWA, went to Angel Leigh McCoy. The President’s Richard Laymon Service Award was given to Michael Colangelo.

Winners were announced at the Stoker Weekend in Long Island NY, June 16-19, 2011.