Last Drink Bird Head Awards

The second annual Last Drink Bird Head Awards were presented October 23, 2010 at Capclave in Washington DC. The awards “celebrate those in the genre community who enrich us with their time, energy, and words, for causes greater than themselves.” The winners are:

Gentle Advocacy:

Tireless Energy

  • Leslie Howle (for her work with Clarion West and Hugo House)

Promotion of Reading

  • Colleen Cahill (for Library of Congress work as a genre fiction advocate, and as the library’s representative to the ALA)

Expanding Our Vocabulary

  • Matthew Cheney

International Activism

The Neil Clarke Special Achievement Award

  • L. Timmel Duchamp

Neil Clarke and Ann & Jeff VanderMeer presided over the ceremony. Winners receive a bird head figurine, a certificate, and chocolate. For more details — including an explanation of the categories — see Jeff VanderMeer’s blog.

One thought on “Last Drink Bird Head Awards

Comments are closed.