Bacigalupi’s Ship Breaker Nominated for National Book Award

Paolo Bacigalupi’s  Ship Breaker has been nominated for the National Book Award in Young People’s Literature. Other nominees in the category include Walter Dean Myer’s Lockdown, Kathryn Erskine’s Mockingbird, Laura McNeal’s Dark Waters and Rita Williams-Garci’s One Crazy Summer.

The winners will be announced November 17, 2010 at  the 61st National Book Awards  Ceremony located at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City. Each winner receives $10,000 and a bronze trophy, while every finalist receives $1,000 and a bronze medal.

Judges for Young People’s Literature are Tor Seidler, Laban Carrick Hill, Kelly Link, Hope Anita Smith and Sara Zarr.