2010 Mythopoeic Awards

The Mythopoeic Society has announced the 2010 Mythopoeic Award winners:

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature:

  • Lifelode, Jo Walton (NESFA)
  • Trickster’s Game Trilogy: Heartwood, Bloodstone, and Foxfire, Barbara Campbell (DAW)
  • Cloud & Ashes: Three Winter’s Tales, Greer Gilman (Small Beer)
  • Avilion, Robert Holdstock (Gollancz)
  • Palimpsest, Catherynne M. Valente (Bantam Spectra)

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature:

  • Where the Mountain Meets the Moon, Grace Lin (Little, Brown)
  • The Hotel Under the Sand, Kage Baker (Tachyon)
  • Books of Bayern: The Goose Girl, Enna Burning, River Secrets, and Forest Born, Shannon Hale (Bloomsbury)
  • Ash, Malinda Lo (Little, Brown)
  • Eyes Like Stars, Lisa Mantchev (Feiwel & Friends)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies:

  • Tolkien, Race and Cultural History: From Fairies to Hobbits, Dimitra Fimi (Palgrave Macmillan)
  • Charles Williams: Alchemy and Integration, Gavin Ashenden (Kent State)
  • Arda Reconstructed: The Creation of the Published Silmarillion, Douglas Charles Kane (Lehigh University Press)
  • Planet Narnia: The Seven Heavens in the Imagination of C.S. Lewis, Michael Ward (Oxford)
    The Evolution of Tolkien’s Mythology: A Study of the History of Middle-earth, Elizabeth A. Whittingham (McFarland)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies:

  • One Earth, One People: The Mythopoeic Fantasy Series of Ursula K. Le Guin, Lloyd Alexander, Madeleine L’Engle and Orson Scott Card, Marek Oziewicz (McFarland)
  • Lilith in a New Light: Essays on the George MacDonald Fantasy Novel, Lucas H. Harriman (McFarland)
  • Rhetorics of Fantasy, Farah Mendlesohn (Wesleyan University Press)
  • Metamorphoses of the Werewolf: A Literary Study from Antiquity Through the Renaissance, Leslie A. Sconduto (McFarland)
  • The Victorian Press and the Fairy Tale, Caroline Sumpter (Palgrave Macmillan)

In addition, Michael Millburn’s “Art According to Romantic Theology: Charles Williams’ Analysis of Dante Reapplied to J.R.R. Tolkien’s ‘Leaf by Niggle'” is the winner of the first Alexei Kondratiev Student Paper Award, given for a paper read at the Mythcon conference.

All winners were announced at Mythcon 41, held July 9-12 2010, in Dallas, Texas.

One thought on “2010 Mythopoeic Awards

Comments are closed.